Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 15 January 2012, 12:07   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
Ian M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Milton
Boat name: Jianna
Make: Osprey
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 E-TEC
MMSI: 235076954
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,933
Chartplotter Probs - Any Ideas?

I have on-going issues with my chartplotter, frustration levels are getting high , grateful for any ideas.
My chartplotter is a Lowrance 5200c with a LGC 3000 antenna. It alternatively flashes the message "Position Lost", and "Positon Acquired" in rapid sucession. I have replaced the drop cable to the display unit, and replaced the 'T' in the network, but still no good. Last time out it worked OK for the first 10 minutes or so and then started the same routine of "Position Lost"," Position Acquired" in rapid sucession, as if an intermittent contact was causing a break in the signal path. Now with the boat parked up, and failing to acquire any position at all (flashing display parameters), the unit shows signal from 5 satellites, which would seem to indicate the antenna is OK. However, the manual says that it will show in diagramatic form the relative satellite positions within a 'polar' style plot, on the satellite status page; mine is blank, as in pic. Does this mean the antenna is shot, or is the display unit not processing the signals?? At this point I am faced with a high cost/long wait for replacement/assessment-repair (??) of the antenna, or far too many beer vouchers for a replacement head unit. Anyone been here before?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5200C Display 003 [1600x1200].jpg
Views:	115
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	64938  
__________________
Ian

Dust creation specialist
Ian M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 January 2012, 12:29   #2
Member
 
MarkM's Avatar
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Breda
Make: Scorpion
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude 250 DI
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 368
Have a Lowrance 7000c which had the same problems. After surching for many months found out that when the voltage dropped towards 11,2 - 11,6 volts the problem occured.
Sprayed "Kontakt-Spray", for mechanical contacts on all of the contacts, and repeat that every few months, never had any problems after that.
__________________

__________________
MarkM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 January 2012, 12:34   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
jambo's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Girvan & Tayvallich
Boat name: Breawatch
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 F/stroke
MMSI: ex directory!!
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,787
RIBase
Hi I have an older Lowrance 3500 and had the same problem 3 years ago. It was salt water on the rubber button contacts repeated wash with warm water fixed
J

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________
jambo
'Carpe Diem'
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club
Member of SABS ( Scottish West Division)
jambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 January 2012, 13:47   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Had a simliar intermittent problem some years ago which was aloose plug in the a frame that just needed tightened, vibration had just loosened it off.
The defective aerial recently showed "OK" on the network but wasn't picking up any satellites....
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 January 2012, 14:21   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Ian M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Milton
Boat name: Jianna
Make: Osprey
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 E-TEC
MMSI: 235076954
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
Had a simliar intermittent problem some years ago which was aloose plug in the a frame that just needed tightened, vibration had just loosened it off.
The defective aerial recently showed "OK" on the network but wasn't picking up any satellites....
That is what is causing me concern, mine might be seeing the satellites, one part of the display clearly shows signals, but the polar display shows nothing. Which indicator is right do you think???
__________________
Ian

Dust creation specialist
Ian M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 January 2012, 16:14   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Have you got anything else on the network that displays the lat and long from the aerial to be able to watch whether it comes and goes too? I'm also suprised you only have 5 satellites showing unless you're between tall buildings or indoors.

Very hard to tell which bit is at fault, but bear in mind that it's normal to get signal strength info well before the almanac data is collected to actually give you your position. Could be the aerial not sending the data properly or the head unit not processing it correctly.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.