Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 January 2012, 11:35   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Portaferry
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 104
charplotter antenna gps

Folks in general if I have a chart plotter that uses a external antenna, if I feed any NMEA signal to it should it detect the data? I think I have a broken antenna and would like to test the plotter unit by using another working gps with nmea out. likewise if i connect the suspect antenna to a 12v supply and the nmea wires o a serial on a laptop running nmea monitor software should i see the data? i ask as i am not sure the antenna uses nmea???
__________________

__________________
MI3GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2012, 06:08   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
Can you post the plotter and GPS antenna make/model numbers?
__________________

__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2012, 08:56   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Portaferry
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeCC
Can you post the plotter and GPS antenna make/model numbers?
Yep guess that would help :-)

I will tomorrow as the kit is not here at home. I have found that there was no 12vdc out from the plotter to the antenna. I fed a 12vdc on the cable from an external battery but still no recognition of the antenna by the plotter. So the thinking is along the lines of testing the antenna first to see if it is sending data out. If the antenna is working that leaves the plotter.

I will post make and model tomorrow. Are there service diagrams available for marine kit?
__________________
MI3GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2012, 09:48   #4
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Is it NMEA 2000, if so a seperate 12v feed is required to the backbone!!!
__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2012, 12:56   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Portaferry
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashbypower View Post
Is it NMEA 2000, if so a seperate 12v feed is required to the backbone!!!
I don't think so...will check all tomorrow
__________________
MI3GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2012, 15:02   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashbypower View Post
Is it NMEA 2000, if so a seperate 12v feed is required to the backbone!!!
Lowrance does not need external 12V if all you're using is the GPS module. Anything else, and yes, you're right.

Don't know if that's true with other manufacturers.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2012, 15:17   #7
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Lowrance does not need external 12V if all you're using is the GPS module. Anything else, and yes, you're right.

Don't know if that's true with other manufacturers.

jky
Sorry But beg to differ, we have installed numerous Lowrance networks

Taken from the Lowrance website
" The NMEA 2000 network 12 Volt Power Source connects to the boat's 12-volt supply to power devices like the EP-10 Fuel Flow Sensor, LMF-400 Multi-Function Gauge, and LGC-2000 GPS Module."
__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2012, 11:17   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Portaferry
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 104
Lowrance GlobalMap 3300C with LGC-2000 antenna.
__________________
MI3GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2012, 11:45   #9
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashbypower View Post
Sorry But beg to differ, we have installed numerous Lowrance networks
Stand corrected. I recalled what I said from setting up my old unit; incorrectly, apparently, from rereading the manual.

Sorry for the confusion.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2012, 11:50   #10
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Stand corrected. I recalled what I said from setting up my old unit; incorrectly, apparently, from rereading the manual.

Sorry for the confusion.

jky
__________________

__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.