Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 November 2010, 20:05   #1
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Can you use a Garmin chart card with Mapsource?

I received my Falklands chart card today and it works well, concerns about the small screen size seem unfounded and actually the detail on the 640x480 556 screen is pretty good and peering at the harbour from a distance, the oil rig support vessels were parked exactly where my AIS receiver says they ought to be so that all works as well

Which got me thinking ... installed on my old laptop I have a copy of the Garmin Mapsource software which I got included free with my old eTrex GPS - I've used it a bit with that to manage the waypoints etc.

So - is there any way of using the SD card from the 556 with the PC running Mapsource and viewing the charts on there or is the card not readable by a PC based system? I've got a card reader already. The Mapsource software has a thing for "unlock codes" but not really sure if that is the same thing or not. I don't really need it (translation: I'm not going to spend any more money) but if I can use it, I might fiddle with it a bit on the PC as it's easier to look at charts on screen than on the plotter.

Ta
__________________

__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 November 2010, 20:27   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
OK I lied when I said no more money - $29.99 buys something called Homeport which appears to do what I want, currently downloading so fingers crossed
__________________

__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2010, 04:56   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I think you've worked this out for yourself, but you now have to use Homeport with the newer systems. You can however copy your SD card onto the PC, but if like me you have the proprietary Garmin data card, you have to have the special card reader, and there is no way of copying that data to the PC. Which is a bit of a pain if your chart card is on the boat and you're at home.

I think it was to overcome all the piracy problems with the old unlock code system which could be hacked.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2010, 09:07   #4
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Yep all worked out, ta

It works fine running the chart card from the SD card reader but I can't seem to get it to recognise the chart data copied onto the PC hard drive - any ideas?
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2010, 09:20   #5
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogMonster View Post
I can't seem to get it to recognise the chart data copied onto the PC hard drive - any ideas?
I don't think it will, they'd rather you went out and spent another small fortune on a new map card.

As Erin says, PITA you can only read from the card, not copy. So you either go back and forth with the card between home and boat or buy 2 cards
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2010, 09:22   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I was under the impression that you could copy the SD card data to your pc. Something to do with an option available by right clicking the SD card in the left hand pane and selecting copy.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2010, 09:24   #7
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
... they'd rather you went out and spent another small fortune on a new map card.
Oi! I will have you know he got a proper bargain.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2010, 11:13   #8
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
The option to copy is there - but greyed out.

However a spare memory stick can look remarkably like an SD card
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 December 2010, 05:03   #9
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Another question now I've got the basics working.

I'd like to be able to connect my land-based eTrex (basic yellow version) to the Homeport software and use it to manage waypoints etc but it does not seem possible? anybody know any different?

I can still use Mapsource but it would be nice to have the accurate coastline on Homeport if nothing else - the base map on Mapsource is crap.

Am I missing something or is it just not possible? I have the eTrex USB lead but the software doesn't seem to support direct connection to GPS only via an SD reader?
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 January 2011, 18:38   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Romney Marsh ,Kent
Make: Osprey 5.85
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Tohatsu
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 169
Did you manage to make a 'backup' copy of your card?

Mike
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogMonster View Post
The option to copy is there - but greyed out.

However a spare memory stick can look remarkably like an SD card
__________________

__________________
bingomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.