Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 October 2006, 05:05   #1
Member
 
qcamel's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle upon Tyne
Boat name: Happy Hours
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300 Verado
MMSI: 235040122
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 476
C120/Smart Craft Connection?

Just wondering if anybody has ever linked the Raymarine C120 to a Smart Craft Gauage? I am trying to use the GPS generated speed on the speed dial of the Smart Craft rather than running from the paddle? Is it simple or not?

Ollie
__________________

__________________
Ollie
qcamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2006, 05:44   #2
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
I havn't linked up a C120, but it's just an NMEA 0183 connection, so you just need an "out" from the GPS and the "in" (It should be blue and marked) on the smartcraft and it should work - then you need to tell it to use the GPS above a certain speed - that's it! They must share a common earth - if the GPS NMEA has a seperate earth connect it to the Smartcaft earth to be sure.
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2006, 05:57   #3
Member
 
qcamel's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle upon Tyne
Boat name: Happy Hours
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300 Verado
MMSI: 235040122
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 476
Thank you for that. For clarity is that a commercialy available cable that will carry out this job or is it a bespoke piece of kit? I have found referance on a US website that refers to the NEMA out, is this the same or a typo do you think? Sorry to sound thick, more of a drinker than a marine electronics tecky!!

However this is kinda your fault as after my demo with you at RIBEX I bought the Verado was so impressed, now trying to get all the technology to work together. Thank you.

Ollie
__________________
Ollie
qcamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2006, 06:16   #4
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by qcamel View Post
Thank you for that. For clarity is that a commercialy available cable that will carry out this job or is it a bespoke piece of kit? I have found referance on a US website that refers to the NEMA out, is this the same or a typo do you think? Sorry to sound thick, more of a drinker than a marine electronics tecky!!

However this is kinda your fault as after my demo with you at RIBEX I bought the Verado was so impressed, now trying to get all the technology to work together. Thank you.

Ollie
The cables should already be on both the GPS and the Verado - you just need to connect them - email me if you havn't got the Merc manual and I'll see if I can find out where it comes out! cookee@bananasharkracing.com
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2006, 16:29   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 30
smartcraft is designed to work with navman not the c series. this is due to the bnt links between navman and mercury u should check out the 8084 and 8120 in the new range, awesome bits of kit
__________________
ben5883 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2006, 00:26   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Jaws
Make: Gemini 4.2
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 50hp
MMSI: none
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 277
Send a message via MSN to Gray
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben5883 View Post
..awesome bits of kit
Not that your in anyway biased on the subject.
__________________
Gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2006, 04:59   #7
Member
 
qcamel's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle upon Tyne
Boat name: Happy Hours
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300 Verado
MMSI: 235040122
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben5883 View Post
smartcraft is designed to work with navman not the c series. this is due to the bnt links between navman and mercury u should check out the 8084 and 8120 in the new range, awesome bits of kit
Thanks for that but it seems a little extreme and expensive just to get SOG on my gauges...
__________________
Ollie
qcamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2006, 06:06   #8
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben5883 View Post
smartcraft is designed to work with navman not the c series. this is due to the bnt links between navman and mercury u should check out the 8084 and 8120 in the new range, awesome bits of kit
I hate to disagree with you but where did you get this information from and can you explain how I managed to get my Garmin GPS to talk to the Smartcraft instruments?
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 October 2006, 12:16   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 30
all u r getting from the gps is SOG this has nothing to do with the smartcraf it is just taking the gps info and calculating it, just as would your dsc radio take long and lat from a gps(o i believe this is what is happeinng) sartcraft was a system designed with BNT (MERC/Mariner) in order fo fault reporting, data etc to be sent to a computer system (i.e Navman electronics) where i get the info on this i am afraid is privilidged info but a few people on here will know!
__________________
ben5883 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 October 2006, 12:35   #10
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben5883 View Post
all u r getting from the gps is SOG this has nothing to do with the smartcraf it is just taking the gps info and calculating it, just as would your dsc radio take long and lat from a gps(o i believe this is what is happeinng) sartcraft was a system designed with BNT (MERC/Mariner) in order fo fault reporting, data etc to be sent to a computer system (i.e Navman electronics) where i get the info on this i am afraid is privilidged info but a few people on here will know!
Maybe you need to go back and read the original question then ........
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.