Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 04 June 2012, 01:48   #1
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Tauranga
Boat name: Extra Pleasure
Make: Atomix
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard 60HP 2Strke
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 182
Bilge Pump Float Switch

Hey,

There is a float switch attached to my bilge pump (Float Master), but I don't think it's working...

On the dash, with the bilge power off, all is off.
On the dash, with the bilge power on, the bilge pump runs all the time.

I'm thinking when the dash switch is on, it should then go through the float switch, and only turn on the pump if the float switch is floating on...

I've 'fiddled' with the float switch flicking it up and down - it moves ok, but the pump continues to pump... (even if dry).

Is the float switch in need of replacement? Or is there anything I can try before hand? The cabling is in a horrible place, so not the easiest to pull out and rewire in a new one.

Thanks in advance
Rob
__________________

__________________
rjbathgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2012, 03:22   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Twin 50 Mariners
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Depends how it's wired I guess - my boat has a dash switch that turns the pump on continously, but then a separate switch that supplies the float switch - so if the separate switch is on then the pump runs if there's water in the boat. Have you tried moving the float switch with the dash switch turned off, see if the pump starts running then? Some systems require the switch to be in the"on" position for a few seconds before the pump starts so you may need to hold it on for a short while

But then float switches seem to be famously unreliable anyway so the other option is it's just bu*****ed!
__________________

__________________
Smithyyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2012, 03:46   #3
Member
 
HUMBER P4VWL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N Wales Chester
Boat name: Mr Smith
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,013
Ours is a three way toggle. Off, auto (float activated) and on (to manually power it).
__________________
HUMBER P4VWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2012, 05:42   #4
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Rosas
Boat name: Conqueror
Make: Valiant
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard 150hp Merc
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 541
Send a message via Skype™ to Courageous
Mine is via a 3 way switch, down is "ON" continuously (an overrride). Middle position is "OFF" and switched up is "AUTO". Interestingly mine just went too and I ended up with a boat full of water again You may have a short circuit on yours if configured similarly or as you say a buggered float switch. Try disconnecting the float switch connection and see if it stops.
__________________
Courageous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2012, 04:05   #5
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Tauranga
Boat name: Extra Pleasure
Make: Atomix
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard 60HP 2Strke
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 182
Hey all,

Ahh ha this is ringing bells now on how it should work...

Next time I venture out, I'll give it a play and see what occurs..

Cheers
__________________
rjbathgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 June 2012, 23:43   #6
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Tauranga
Boat name: Extra Pleasure
Make: Atomix
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard 60HP 2Strke
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 182
Update...

Nothing happens when I manually lift the float switch with the dash turned off...
And it's just on with the dash on...

New float switch? Wiring wise, I presume the float switch go directly to the battery / +ve bus, not via any dash switch, since it's a switch itself?

Ta!
__________________
rjbathgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 June 2012, 02:48   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Twin 50 Mariners
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Depends what you want it to do of course - sorry for stating the obvious, but if you wire it direct to the battery it'll run whenever there's water in the boat while you're away whether you want it to or not, run it via the switch and you can decide whether to leave it active or not but won't be able to run it continuously independently of the float switch

Or you could fit an extra switch or replace the existing one with a three position (off-on-automatic) while you're at it. This link has a diagram for another make of pump which illustrates how it works (although electronic float switches are slightly different)

http://www.shurflo.com/files/Educati...-40%20111.pdf/
__________________

__________________
Smithyyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.