Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 July 2013, 18:12   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 265
Bilge Pump

As a complete electronic novice this may be a completely stupid question...but we have a new bilge pump and need to wire it up. We had one previously (no idea what happened to it, but it doesn't appear to be there anymore!!!), so we have some wires and the pump, it looks pretty simply to wire it up...but in terms of waterproofing what do I need to worry about? Do I need any specific type of connection/junction box/any other way of joining them?
__________________

__________________
vjmehra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 July 2013, 18:19   #2
Member
 
Tim&Linda's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Crewe
Boat name: BLACK BOSS
Make: humber & searider
Length: 9m +
Engine: 2x200 ETEC & 2x40
MMSI: ex directory
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 581
RIBase
use a IP65 junction box [ ip65 stands for waterproof ]
__________________

__________________
Tim&Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 July 2013, 18:21   #3
Member
 
mister p's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: LONDON
Make: SR4/ZODIAC/3D
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30T/40T
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,433
all wiring that you do should be "above board" as it were.
If it's been submerged the cables will wick and you'll have all sorts of trouble.
New pump and no trouble.
That's all.
__________________
mister p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 July 2013, 18:22   #4
Member
 
Tim&Linda's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Crewe
Boat name: BLACK BOSS
Make: humber & searider
Length: 9m +
Engine: 2x200 ETEC & 2x40
MMSI: ex directory
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 581
RIBase
you will need a couple glands
__________________
Tim&Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 July 2013, 18:59   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
What are you joining to? Fuse? Switch? Is there a float switch?
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2013, 04:07   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 265
It is being joined to a switch, there is a fuse, whats a float switch?
__________________
vjmehra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2013, 05:03   #7
Member
 
Bern Hanreck's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Norfolk/Suffolk Borders
Boat name: La Bamba
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: F100 Yam / 5Hp Suz
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 707
Vjmehra , it might be a good idea if you tell us exactly what bilge pump you are fitting ?

Some are "automatic" and sense every two mins if water is present and if so turn on . Some are connected to a float switch and will only turn on when water is sensed .

Imagine , if your pump simply switched on/off manually by the switch , when the pump had got rid of the surplus water , if it just kept running it would drain your battery , and probably burn out ........
__________________
Bern Hanreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2013, 05:16   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 265
Ah, the pump is not automatic, i.e. when I say switch I mean we manually flick the switch to drain the water, once drained we turn off the pump, it does not have a sensor.

Hopefully I'm explaining that correctly, am very clueless unfortunately :-)
__________________
vjmehra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2013, 05:50   #9
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
The accepted way is good quality marine crimped butt connectors with adhesive lined heat shrink tubing over. Clip the cable so the connections are as high as possible to keep them out of the bilge water. The pump should have 3 wires, black red and brown. Black to negative battery terminal and one of the other 2 to the switch on your console. The third would normally go to a live feed via a float switch

Sent from my portable speaking device using Rib.net
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2013, 05:56   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 265
Ah great, that sounds like exactly what I was after, perfect, will give it a shot and report back! Thanks!
__________________

__________________
vjmehra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.