Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 July 2013, 09:07   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by vjmehra View Post
whats a float switch?
Same idea as the one on your console, but instread of a finger toggle it has a float - when the float rises, the switch is switched.

"Electronic" ones have a couple of metal studs that are at a couple of volts dfference. When "shorted" by water the circuits inside use the small current between the studs to recognise the water is there & electronically switch the big current. Problem with these types in a rib is its usually wet on a good day!
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2013, 10:24   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 265
ah cool, that is good to know, it had never really occurred to me how the automatic ones worked!
__________________

__________________
vjmehra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2013, 13:49   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 195
Surely there were some instructions with the new pump?? It may save your life one day if you became less clueless (your words) , never know when you may need to do an on the water fix, especially with a safety related item like a bilge pump.
__________________
j.i.wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 July 2013, 14:58   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 265
It quite possibly does, but I don't have it to hand to check as it is with one of my co-owners.

We do keep a manual bailer (well small bucket) onboard in case the pump fails.

Ill check the packaging at the weekend.
__________________
vjmehra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 July 2013, 04:24   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Or elephant trunks as a backup?

No battery required!
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 July 2013, 04:34   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: 4m +
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 265
We have an elephant trunk too :-)
__________________
vjmehra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2013, 17:37   #17
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Rivers, Manitoba
Boat name: Grand Raid MK III
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: outboard 60/40 Jet
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 20
I have a big nose to but never been called an elephant trunk
__________________

__________________
john noon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.