Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 August 2006, 13:12   #1
Member
 
richardjawilson's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London, boat Dartmouth
Boat name: Lark
Make: Capelli Cap 32 WA
Length: 10m +
Engine: Yamaha 250x2
MMSI: 235096621
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 189
bilge pump

I currently have a Rule 500 gph auto bilge pump and wish to add another on the same circuit. Is it just a question of wiring it to the existing power supply, and if so, will I need to put put in a bigger fuse, ie twice the rating???

The reason for having a second pump is that the current pump jammed after ingesting a small bit of debris, and as I was away for a few days it caused a fair bit of havoc because my Rib sits very low in the water and needs a fully working pump!!

richard
__________________

__________________
richardjawilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2006, 13:42   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
In theory you should be able to add a new pump in PARALLEL to the existing one. BUT you should check the wiring can cope with double the load. You may need to increase the fuse - it depends on the current the pump draws. The fuse will need to be larger than the sum of the two individual pumps.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2006, 17:07   #3
Member
 
richardjawilson's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London, boat Dartmouth
Boat name: Lark
Make: Capelli Cap 32 WA
Length: 10m +
Engine: Yamaha 250x2
MMSI: 235096621
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 189
ok, thanks for that, i'll check what amps it first pump draws and go from there.

regards richard
__________________
richardjawilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2006, 18:06   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mayfair, London
Make: RibEye/Ferretti 881
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 25/Twin MTU
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 690
Richard,

Not related to bilge pumps, but is yours the RIB on Cadagon Pier, Thames new there this season?
__________________
timw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2006, 19:42   #5
Member
 
richardjawilson's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London, boat Dartmouth
Boat name: Lark
Make: Capelli Cap 32 WA
Length: 10m +
Engine: Yamaha 250x2
MMSI: 235096621
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 189
It sure is, I think you are moored up at the Hurlingham if I'm not mistaken. The rib replaced a very damaged Gladitor 4.8, 60 hp boat in May of this year following a collision with a large semi floating log/tree branch at 34 knts. The rib is new to me but was originally moored in Newhaven. I have seen your rib at full flight a few times but generally I have been travelling the opposite direction!!


richard
__________________
richardjawilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2006, 03:35   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mayfair, London
Make: RibEye/Ferretti 881
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 25/Twin MTU
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 690
Richard,

Good to see another RIB on the river. Mine was at Chichester until 3 years ago then I moved it to London and have been on Hurlingham Jetty for the past 3 years but wintering in South Dock Marina.

Now I know it's you we'll stop for a chat next time. Am out most sunny weekends and the occassional evening.

Mines grey and called Snapper.

Tim
__________________
timw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2006, 03:41   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Weymouth
Boat name: Splitz
Make: Ring
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 130
MMSI: 235015866
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 78
Could you not run another feed & fuse to the new pump. If one pump develops a fault and trips the fuse you have no pumps.
__________________
---------------
Regards,
Steedthrust
---------------
steedthrust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2006, 08:48   #8
Member
 
richardjawilson's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London, boat Dartmouth
Boat name: Lark
Make: Capelli Cap 32 WA
Length: 10m +
Engine: Yamaha 250x2
MMSI: 235096621
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 189
good thinking Steedthrust, I think thats the best solution. I was looking for a quick fix but I guess the only way to do it is properly.

Snapper I guess I will bump in to you shortly.

regards richard
__________________
richardjawilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2006, 12:54   #9
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
I would wire it completely reduntantly. Too many possibilities of fuse or wiring problems. Two separate systems are much more reliable than two systems with a bunch of stuff in common.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2006, 16:33   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warrington/Anglesey
Make: Menai 480SR.
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsoooooooo 70hp
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 665
Any fuse used should NOT be greater than the individual pump rating. this could cause you big probs.
__________________

__________________
Yoyo.
---------------------------------------------------
life's full of ups "n" downs.
yoyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.