Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 September 2012, 09:25   #61
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Can't seem to find an online stockist for the Blue sea box?
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2012, 10:23   #62
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Aquafax are uk importers so any of their dealers should have them.

I got all mine from the USA

Sent from my portable speaking device using Rib.net
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2012, 11:48   #63
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchiguy View Post
Can't seem to find an online stockist for the Blue sea box?

JG Technologies Dealer Specialist Marine Electronics
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2012, 17:18   #64
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Blue sea fuse box and aux charging harness on their way. How about this for MkII wiring?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0195.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	45.1 KB
ID:	72574  
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2012, 17:34   #65
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I think I'd rearrange the switch for the house batt, so that when you switch it off it is neither connected to the nav electronics or the aux charging circuit. You want some way to totally isolate the battery from all connections (except bilge) in case it has some kind of serious failure that would risk damaging anything it is connected to. In essence, put the switch into the aux charging line and connected the supply to the bluesea panel from the engine side of said switch.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 November 2012, 02:46   #66
Spammer
 
Country: Canada
Town: Southern Ontario
Boat name: -Unknown-
Make: SeaMax
Length: 4m +
Engine: Merc/Minn Kota
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 216
Nifty Schematic. Curious to know your reason for wiring the Ignition Switch through the House Batt v. the Start Batt?

I believe I would have used the same Start Batt for the Ignition Switch, since you have an emergency parallel connect to both batts.
__________________
Nightfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 November 2012, 06:30   #67
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfisher View Post
Nifty Schematic. Curious to know your reason for wiring the Ignition Switch through the House Batt v. the Start Batt?

I believe I would have used the same Start Batt for the Ignition Switch, since you have an emergency parallel connect to both batts.
That has actually been changed to as you suggest!

One hurdle we have found is that of the NMEA 2000 network. As it stands at the moment, it is powered up only when the ignition is turned on, this means instruments etc come on at that time. However, all the new stuff we are adding is going to be on NMEA2000 network so it needs to be powered all the time. The answer as Chris suggests above is a multi engine power cable so that the network is powered on when the ignition is turned on (so you can run engine with instruments but with no electronics battery on, or the other way round.

I will post the final wiring diagram when I finally find it!
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 November 2012, 07:34   #68
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I think you've got to decide whether you want to have your second battery dedicated as a 'house' battery or just there in reserve if your primary battery fails. If it is the latter, then I wouldn't get too carried away with complicated circuits and just carry some jump leads in case it is ever required to start the engine. If it is the former, then the start battery should only power the engine starting and not supply any juice to any electornics whatsoever. Your nmea etc should be run from the house batt.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 November 2012, 08:08   #69
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
I think you've got to decide whether you want to have your second battery dedicated as a 'house' battery or just there in reserve if your primary battery fails. If it is the latter, then I wouldn't get too carried away with complicated circuits and just carry some jump leads in case it is ever required to start the engine. If it is the former, then the start battery should only power the engine starting and not supply any juice to any electornics whatsoever. Your nmea etc should be run from the house batt.
The second battery is to be a dedicated house battery, not just lugged around for the sake of it. The final wiring diagram is attached.

With the new system, NMEA2000 becomes very important that it is powered on the whole time, because it will be necessary for DSC, AIS, GPS, transducer etc all the time whereas in the old system it did not. However, the engine instruments are also powered from NMEA 2000 so cannot be run separately with a set up where NMEA power just comes from the house battery. Ie. you couldnt run the engine with instruments but no other electrics. The multi power input cable sorts that problem.

The NMEA2k will usually be powered from the house battery because that will be turned on first, then all the engine instruments will be working fine no problem. If however you wanted engine + instruments but no electronics, you simply fire up the engine and the NMEA gets power from the engine (not from the starting battery) although that is semantics really.

NMEA2k network diagram also attached, however missing AIS and memory module. Shows how important it will be that it is always powered on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wiring for boat.jpg
Views:	543
Size:	74.2 KB
ID:	73916   Click image for larger version

Name:	nmea2k first wiring.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	73917  
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 November 2012, 09:23   #70
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
You've confused me . You need to be careful that you don't have two sources of power available to your nmea network otherwise, if you forget to turn one of the switches on/off then there is a risk you might start charging one of your batteries via the nmea backbone which would not be good. You could I suppose have two separate backbones, each powered independantly and just have the data wires connected between the two. This would allow you to have an engine backbone for gauges and a navigation backbone for nav electronics. They could share data but not the power sources.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.