Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 May 2007, 05:56   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bursledon
Boat name: Mustard
Make: Ribeye 785
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 200/Merc 6
MMSI: 235068693
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 618
Anyone use Navtex?

I have recently bought a NASA Clipper Navtex receiver. My thought process being to keep it running at home to read the shipping forecast before trips.

I can only say that I am finding the menu so non intuitive that I am getting hacked off with it.

Also, reception is not good unless the aerial has a clear view of the sky.

Does any else have experience and how do they rate the value of the info available from the Navtex system?



Thanks

Tony
__________________

__________________
JABS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 May 2007, 16:28   #2
Member
 
havener's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Far west!
Boat name: Vigilant
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 90hp
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 505
Info is good, I use it at home with the aerial mounted on the chimney - weather info is superb, but then I use it at sea all the time so get used to the format.

I use the ICS printed version, not had experience of the set you're talking about.

I suspect also that you may be a wee bit too inland to experience decent coverage...

Simon
__________________

__________________
havener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 May 2007, 07:05   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by JABS View Post
Also, reception is not good unless the aerial has a clear view of the sky.
The info is good if it's what you need.

I'm using a Nasa active antenna on a McMurdo navtex and it's receiving everything from Reykjavik to Turkey. The antenna is on the boat roof. Like any antenna, the radio waves can be blocked by various things but, in general, navtex signals travel a long way easily.

My home Navtex is indoors and the antenna is sitting on a windowsill. It is set to receive from Norway, Portpatrick and Cullercoats. I'm on the east coast and the Portpatrick signal is a bit weak, it sometimes droxps chxraxters.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2007, 10:27   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
i have the same unit at home. the interface and data formatting is awful but the information it receives is good. My aeriel in up by the guttering and receives no problems. i am only 200 yards from the sea though.
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2007, 14:01   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Towcester
Boat name: TBA
Make: Delta
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki 175
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 328
Navtex interface with Raymarine plotter

Hi
Its good to see some Navtex users - even if from home.

My experience Navtex is very good info - but units are difficult to program and read when on board.

I notice that Raymarine has some form of Navtex interface. Does anyone know if this improves the functionality - ie can you effectively operate the Navtex and view the info on the bigger Raymarine screen?

Paul
__________________
Paul Beaurain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2007, 03:30   #6
Member
 
havener's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Far west!
Boat name: Vigilant
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 90hp
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 505
Best to ask Raytheon - certainly on our units you can, but then we have an integrated bridge system which is a little more than you'd find on a rib....

Simon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bridge1.jpg
Views:	432
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	26917  
__________________
havener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2007, 03:55   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bursledon
Boat name: Mustard
Make: Ribeye 785
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 200/Merc 6
MMSI: 235068693
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by havener View Post
Best to ask Raytheon - certainly on our units you can, but then we have an integrated bridge system which is a little more than you'd find on a rib....

Simon
Now that is a lot of toys!
__________________
JABS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2007, 06:25   #8
Member
 
havener's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Far west!
Boat name: Vigilant
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 90hp
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 505
Just a few...sometimes I even remember what they do
__________________
havener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2007, 17:39   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
I'm on the east coast and the Portpatrick signal is a bit weak, it sometimes droxps chxraxters.
Are you sure that its the signal? Perhaps gArf is hiding out in Portpatrick typing the weather!
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 March 2008, 13:58   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Beaurain View Post
Hi
Its good to see some Navtex users - even if from home.

My experience Navtex is very good info - but units are difficult to program and read when on board.

I notice that Raymarine has some form of Navtex interface. Does anyone know if this improves the functionality - ie can you effectively operate the Navtex and view the info on the bigger Raymarine screen?

Paul
Two words, "don't bother!" I have just added a NASA navtex engine to my "E" series network. After visiting the Raymarine stand at the boat show & speaking to NASA on the phone I decided to spend the 100 quid or so & buy the NASA unit. What no-one tells you is that you have to leave your Raymarine display switched on to receive Navtex messages, not just the NASA receiver. Also the messages aren't stored, so if you switch off the display that the navtex is connected to, you lose all the info. The PC version "navtex pro" does store the messages locally in the Navtex unit until you download them onto your PC. The Raymarine version doesn't.
Not happy :>((
__________________
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.