Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Electrics and electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 February 2010, 22:52   #1
alt
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway, West Eire
Make: Sealine
Length: 5m +
Engine: Volvo KAD 32
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 610
Anyone ever bought from "Waterware"?

http://www.waterware.co.uk/Default.aspx

They seem to have the Garmin GPSMAP 556 at the lowest price I can see within the UK.

Anyone got any experiences?
alt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2010, 08:26   #2
Trade member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,457
An 020 number and no physical address would alert me, but they do have a Google pay system and credit cards so might be OK? Pay by credit card and be protected!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2010, 09:19   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Rowlands Castle
Length: no boat
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
We're perfectly genuine. Happy to provide references from customers.

You can also find us listed on the main UK distributor's website -

http://www.smgeurope.com/dealersList.cfm?Dc_id=18
Waterware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2010, 09:49   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
An 020 number and no physical address would alert me,
What's wrong with an 020 number?

The area code for most of London and surrounding areas is 020.
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2010, 20:25   #5
RIBnet admin team
 
Polwart's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Linlithgow
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
An 020 number and no physical address would alert me, but they do have a Google pay system and credit cards so might be OK? Pay by credit card and be protected!
Cookee seems genuine enough to me (there is a physical address on the sites contact us and returns pages [not sure if this has just been added] but it matches this) :

http://www.192.com/atoz/business/row...a77b3aee2/web/

The only thing that is missing is proper T&Cs of sale (they may be on the checkout page though) which state who you are actually transacting with e.g. WW Ltd or Mr XYZ trading as Waterware....

Oh and it looks like someones been asking same question over at YBW (which unusually is working for me tonight!) http://www.ybw.com/forums/showthread...41#post2430441
Polwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2010, 07:53   #6
Trade member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,457
Take it all back - it seems they are a proper job after all - there are so many scams around I am probably a bit over cautious!

(I'm sure the actual address was added after I looked, but maybe I'm getting a bit senile!)
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2010, 08:00   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Plymuff
Boat name: Stingray
Make: Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115hp mercury
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 131
nothing wrong with being cautious

scams are often very good, which is why they catch people.

its like the nigerian who emailled me with a deal, it took several emails for me to check he was a prince, and he did have 35,000 000 to put ino UK banks.
nice guy
markymarkP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2010, 08:20   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Rowlands Castle
Length: no boat
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
Take it all back - it seems they are a proper job after all - there are so many scams around I am probably a bit over cautious!

(I'm sure the actual address was added after I looked, but maybe I'm getting a bit senile!)
You're not getting senile. The address on the Contact Us page was added following your comment.
Waterware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2010, 08:26   #9
Trade member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterware View Post
You're not getting senile. The address on the Contact Us page was added following your comment.
Thanks for that - It's the first thing I look for - I can't understand why someone wouldn't put a physical address on a website when you can find it out so many other ways ......... other than if you don't want to be found! Sorry for doubting you, we are also with SMG as an OEM dealer.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2010, 08:29   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,867
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
, we are also with SMG as an OEM dealer.
Aren't we all!
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:43.


RIB News Delivered to your Email!

Stay up-to-date with RIB news in your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]