Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 October 2008, 05:51   #1
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Guernsey
Boat name: Monkey Nutz
Make: Cougar R8 Sport
Length: 8m +
Engine: 350Sci Verado
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 931
Any Garmin Experts?

Ok here is a good one. I've asked my local Garmin guy and he can't fathom it out. I've lost the Coordinates from my display..it just shows dash's. I have done a master reset and updated the software to the latest version, but no joy. Any ideas?

Tony
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Missing Coordinates.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	38404  
__________________

__________________
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 October 2008, 06:29   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony View Post
Ok here is a good one. I've asked my local Garmin guy and he can't fathom it out. I've lost the Coordinates from my display..it just shows dash's. I have done a master reset and updated the software to the latest version, but no joy. Any ideas?

Tony
Do you have the black multi port expander box under the dash to link everything together ?
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 October 2008, 06:35   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedajim View Post
Do you have the black multi port expander box under the dash to link everything together ?
Sorry hit the wrong key

Mine went the same when I added it, sorted by turning it all off disconnecting all plugs cleaning them and repowering up, never found out what was wrong but I think it was not seeing one of the add-ons/ connections

I also put a little bit of silicon on the outside of the plugs/sockets when they we're reconnected to the box so they shouldn't come off in the rough
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 October 2008, 10:48   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
With the amount of cash those thing cost I'd be asking Garmin to get it sorted , even if it means they replace the whole lot !

But alas I know nothing about them apart from they shoudl recognice any of the plug ins. I assume its still showing position on the chart OK , just not giving Lat/long. Is it showing on the radio ( assuming it is equipped). Apart form that if the age old , turn it off & on again doesn't work (an extention being unplug everything & start again ) I'm not aware its an option to actively 'turn off' the co-ordinates.
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 October 2008, 13:49   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle Staffs
Boat name: blue it
Make: ribcraft 7.5
Length: 7m +
Engine: suzuki df225
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 488
Send a message via AIM to Top banana
Have you lost power to the gps 17 sensor, Dont they have to be connected to supply and earth. and nmea connections.
__________________
Top banana
Top banana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 October 2008, 14:12   #6
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Guernsey
Boat name: Monkey Nutz
Make: Cougar R8 Sport
Length: 8m +
Engine: 350Sci Verado
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Top banana View Post
Have you lost power to the gps 17 sensor, Dont they have to be connected to supply and earth. and nmea connections.
The Gps 17 sensor is working fine, the coordinates come up on the Dsc radio, I
think I'll unplug the network and recconect it all.
__________________
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 October 2008, 08:30   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth, UK
Boat name: Jelly Fish
Make: Quicksilver 3.8XSHD
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 25MEFI
MMSI: 235905473
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 130
Some dsc radios remember the last position, sometimes after being switched off. Is the plotter seeing the GPS though?? Go into the gps page and see if there are any satellites showing. If memory serves me correctly, you can make a gps restart from there too.
__________________
Geoff
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 October 2008, 12:50   #8
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Guernsey
Boat name: Monkey Nutz
Make: Cougar R8 Sport
Length: 8m +
Engine: 350Sci Verado
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 931
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffs View Post
Some dsc radios remember the last position, sometimes after being switched off. Is the plotter seeing the GPS though?? Go into the gps page and see if there are any satellites showing. If memory serves me correctly, you can make a gps restart from there too.
The plotter finds the sensor on the network and it is logging on to satellites and giving a gps speed
__________________
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 October 2008, 14:31   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Could it be that you haven't selected the correct datum or similar?
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 October 2008, 14:44   #10
Member
 
Tony's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Guernsey
Boat name: Monkey Nutz
Make: Cougar R8 Sport
Length: 8m +
Engine: 350Sci Verado
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 931
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
Could it be that you haven't selected the correct datum or similar?
I think so
It was working when we left the Uk and gave in an hour into our trip.
__________________

__________________
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.