Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 August 2013, 20:45   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
Any experience with Simrad BSM1?

I have just got hold of a 2nd hand Simrad BSM1 sounder module but cant seem to get it to work.

I have wired in the power lead and im getting 12v out the end of it but the actual unit doesnt power on.

Any ideas or experience with them?
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2013, 03:43   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
You getting any LEDs at all?

Power terminal clean and definately picking up the power?
__________________

__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2013, 13:04   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
No LEDs lighting up...12v coming out the power cable but nothing.

All pins look clean with no corrosion.
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2013, 13:19   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Manual suggests the LED would let you know if there was a fault... ...so I'm assuming its a more serious fault! I'd suspect you are into taking the case off and going probing with voltmeter or looking for cooked components?

You tried with the NMEA and transducer removed incase either of them are shorting something?
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2013, 19:15   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
What colour wires in the power lead?


Simrad did once upon a one use red for nmea input and black and white for power. Genius.
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2013, 03:35   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
It has 3 or 4 wires...black, red, yellow and blue...I think the yellow is the switching one
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2013, 03:56   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Since electricity is colour blind... you can never be 100% sure with colour codes.

http://pro.simrad-yachting.com/Simra...51156542,d.Yms

The power lead has 4 pins and is supposed to be black. Pin 1 should be (Black) Ground/Negative supply on battery
Pin 2 (Blue) should not be connected, Pin 3 (Yellow) should be +ve 12V when the ignition is on and Pin 4 (red) should be +ve 12V at all times. Both 3 & 4 need a 3A fuse in them.

Connecting Pin 1 and 3 only will not work, you need 1,3 and 4 connected. 3 and 4 could at least for testing just be shorted together.
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2013, 21:52   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
Done that, red and yellow both go to positive on a fused switch.

It shouldn't matter that they share the same switch as the simrad plotter?
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.