Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 January 2010, 17:36   #1
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Another DSC / GPS interface question

Sorry...have searched the forums and lots out there, but am confusing myself. It's an old garmin GPS mating to a new Standard horizon GX1500...so a basic set up.

I have wired a common earth and both units are powering up. Now need to make NMEA connections......I have:

Garmin Blue NMEA OUT
Garmin brown NMEA IN

S/H Blue NMEA OUT +
S/H Green NMEA OUT
S/H Grey NMEA IN +

Could someone please tell me which S/H colour goes to which Garmin Colour....intend to upgrade to a decent plotter soon, but need to get this wired in the morning if possible.

Thanks

Dan

PS I have a Demek vHF kicking around if anyone wants it (free to good home - postage only). It wouldn't have looked out of place on Noahs Ark, but works fine.
__________________

__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2010, 18:25   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth, UK
Boat name: Jelly Fish
Make: Quicksilver 3.8XSHD
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 25MEFI
MMSI: 235905473
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 130
Garmin Blue to SH grey
Garmin Black to SH black (-ve to -ve)

Unless you want the radio to talk to the plotter i.e. return the DSC data then that is all you need. If you do then:

Garmin brown to SH blue
Garmin black to SH green

Enjoy.
__________________

__________________
Geoff
geoffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2010, 18:43   #3
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffs View Post
Garmin Blue to SH grey
Garmin Black to SH black (-ve to -ve)

Unless you want the radio to talk to the plotter i.e. return the DSC data then that is all you need. If you do then:

Garmin brown to SH blue
Garmin black to SH green

Enjoy.
Thanks Geoffs...just the one connection left to make then...will upgrade to a plotter when I can afford it!

Much appreciated
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 13:12   #4
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Struggling with the simplest of tasks!

Not working............

I have made the connection Garmin blue to S/H grey.

The earth is common in so far that both the black cables (one from the Garmin GPS and one from the S/H vHF) are both in the same block of the buzzbar...

Is this common earth solution sufficient?

I am seeing no GPS symbol on the vHF....can anyone help? Do I need to tell the GPS to look for the vHF? It's an old Garmin model 120XL...can't find anything in the manual.

Can anyone shine any light on this please?


Sorry to be a pain, but I'm having a pretty bad day generally....LOTS of probs which simply shouldn't be there (with the OB). Despite a polite approach, the offending dealer has really pushed my buttons today. He has now been extended what will be his final chance to rectify his shoddy behavior /misdescription....not in may nature to act like this and might sound melodramatic, but I would hate for another RIBnetter to suffer the same fate....it isn't acceptible to me to be treated like this......will be taking pics as we delve into the issues and will keep you posted if a satisfactory conclusion isn't reached.

Dan
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 13:21   #5
JSP
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southport
Boat name: Qudos
Make: 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115 V4
MMSI: 235068784
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,930
Name and shame Dan !!
__________________
JSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 13:43   #6
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Hi JSP.....long time no speak... hope you are well mate!

As you may tell I'm a little wound up at the moment, and am going to pop out for a pint to calm down. I will be seeking a more detailed understanding of the issue / a resolution tomorrow....am also waiting to see if my polite request is met....

If it's not i will not hesitate to detail the issues I have encountered in a balanced and unemotional way.......what is most annoying is that others here have seemingly had good service from the same party....lets hope there is a 'positive' in that!

Dan
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2010, 13:52   #7
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Worth View Post
I am seeing no GPS symbol on the vHF....can anyone help? Do I need to tell the GPS to look for the vHF? It's an old Garmin model 120XL...can't find anything in the manual.
quite possibly or to tell it which baud settings etc to use.

You want to be sending data in NMEA 0183 'format'.
This is 4800 baud (may be called something like speed or bps) - you may need to set number of data bits, parity etc if it is a really old unit - google/wikipedia will reveal the answers.

EDIT: A quick look suggest p43 of your manual: http://www8.garmin.com/manuals/GPS12...nersManual.pdf will tell you how to set the OUTPUT data format.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 January 2010, 16:38   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Worth View Post
As you may tell I'm a little wound up at the moment, and am going to pop out for a pint to calm down. I will be seeking a more detailed understanding of the issue / a resolution tomorrow....am also waiting to see if my polite request is met....

If it's not i will not hesitate to detail the issues I have encountered in a balanced and unemotional way.......what is most annoying is that others here have seemingly had good service from the same party....lets hope there is a 'positive' in that!

Dan
You back from the pub yet?

Sorted and happy or name and shame time?
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 February 2010, 03:15   #9
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Got back from Pub (and on an unrelated note, have even mamaged another sneaky visit since....bonus)

Think we are making progress....see what the week brings. Things not as bad as they could have been, but pretty far from happy! Will let you know when I get things sorted.

D.
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 February 2010, 05:12   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
I had similar fuin with my GPS12 & an Icom DSC- if you aren't using any input to the Garmin, pick "NMEA/NMEA" (means you don't end up with it looking for NMEA on it's input & squirting something random out that the radio wonlt understand) then (from memory) when you are in "System- interface - NMEA" ther is a "settings" option - highlight it & play with the baud rate. I think I had to reduce mine to 3600 (your SH may be at the lower baud rate to allow connection to really old stuff)

Also not fully digested your wiring, but I have separate -ve (earth) for the data & power - the theory being that when I finally get a plotter, I can patch them across should the plotter take a canary fit. Also means the data isd independant of any weird earth loops caused by short circuits / internal wiring of future toys.

Hope this helps, although may be a tad late........
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.