Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 January 2008, 16:27   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
AIS for Raymarine

I am considering fitting AIS to my Raymarine C80. The Raymarine unit is 600 - the NASA unit is 110. Bit of a difference really!!!

How difficult will it be to use the NASA unit? Will the Raymarine software see the info ok?

From what I can gather I will need an extra aerial or splitter and possibly a mulitplexer for the NMEA.

Any info most welcome - I can justify 110!!!
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2008, 16:50   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Cod,

Have you seen this? http://www.altendorff.co.uk/archives/date/2006/09

or this http://www.ybw.com/forums/showflat.p...76/an/0/page/2
which links to this: http://raymarine.custhelp.com/cgi-bi...p?p_faqid=1233

Neil
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2008, 17:11   #3
exspyrd trayd membir
 
The Garfish's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Town: inn wiliks hed
Make: Redbay 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Twin Etec 90hp
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
I am considering fitting AIS to my Raymarine C80.
i wudunt bovver mi sun

yorr orlreddy bein wochid
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	asi.jpg
Views:	301
Size:	37.9 KB
ID:	32221  
__________________
luk arfter numbir wan, downt stepp inn numbir too
The Garfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2008, 17:11   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Thanks for that - only just had the idea so only just started looking into it. I don't really NEED AIS where we are - just not enough shipping to justify it but for 120 well worth a go.

If I had a conventional boat with a cabin I would have everything running off a PC or laptop - much cheaper than chartplotters and much more versatile but on an open RIB it's a different story!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2008, 17:19   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Garfish View Post
i wudunt bovver mi sun

yorr orlreddy bein wochid
Shit Garf you've had me again!!! Hope you didn't see what I was up to earlier when you were playing with your periscope..............
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2008, 17:32   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Codders, I've connected the NASA engine to my Garmin and it works without a problem. Be aware that AIS data is transmitted at 38,400 baud so your Raymarine unit will need to be able to receive at that speed. However, the port you set to that speed will then not be able to receive normal NMEA data. The NASA AIS engine gives a partial fix for this in that it will accept incoming normal NMEA data on a separate cable and it will pass this on along with the AIS output at high speed.

The AIS engine is not, in anyway, water resistant so you'll need to mount it somewhere safe or put it into a box using gland nuts for the cables.

I've used a separate antenna, just a cheap short one. My boat is at home and the antenna is layed flat. Today I was receiving AIS info from vessels over 14 miles away, so the input sensitivity appears to be very good.

Hope that helps.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2008, 17:43   #7
exspyrd trayd membir
 
The Garfish's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Town: inn wiliks hed
Make: Redbay 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Twin Etec 90hp
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
Hope you didn't see what I was up to earlier when you were playing with your periscope..............

Attached Images
 
__________________
luk arfter numbir wan, downt stepp inn numbir too
The Garfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2008, 17:53   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
I didn't want to see the relection in the eyepiece!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2008, 18:16   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Thanks Jay walker!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2008, 18:51   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
You're welcome.

I fekked up the wee pic so here is the correct one. It's worth noting that it can be used by anyone wanting to monitor an NMEA output. The led will light sharply when it receives a sentence and then decay to off.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AIS DarlingtonPair.jpg
Views:	237
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	32227  
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.