Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 October 2018, 12:52   #1
Member
 
Last Tango's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Denny
Boat name: Hebridean Storm
Make: Coastline
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner F150
MMSI: 235107505
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,240
AIS Antenna

Hi

I was wondering if any of you wicked reprobates had fitted both your AIS and VHF aerials on the "A" frame and if you did, did it end in catastrophic disaster.

If I take the aerial out of the back of my VHF (DC ground 3db) and plug it into the AIS the AIS performance is awesome.
However, I bought a pukka 161/162 3db AIS aerial... https://www.force4.co.uk/scout-ais-f...IaAjyIEALw_wcB

fitted it to the windscreen frame to keep it more than two meters from the VHF aerial and the the performance is sh1t3. Seems to Tx ok but really poor reception.

I have another aerial exactly the same as the VHF one and that works ok but only if it's grounded to, and near the "A" frame. Tried various cables, connectors and locations but it looks like it has to go on the "A" frame about a meter away from the VHF aeriel.
__________________

__________________
Last Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 October 2018, 14:27   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,489
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Last Tango View Post
Hi



I was wondering if any of you wicked reprobates had fitted both your AIS and VHF aerials on the "A" frame and if you did, did it end in catastrophic disaster.

(


Yes, nope
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 October 2018, 14:36   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,192
Well they're not on an A-frame but on the cabin roof, VHF - radar - ais - navtex all within a few feet of each other. No probs.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 October 2018, 14:42   #4
Member
 
Last Tango's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Denny
Boat name: Hebridean Storm
Make: Coastline
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner F150
MMSI: 235107505
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Yes, nope
That's about all the encouragement I needed.......Thanks..
__________________
Last Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 October 2018, 15:39   #5
RIBnet Supporter
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,388
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Last Tango View Post
That's about all the encouragement I needed.......Thanks..
No issues - 2xVHF, 1xAIS, 1xRADAR, multiple GPS receivers.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Antennae.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	125.0 KB
ID:	127296  
__________________
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 October 2018, 15:42   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,489
RIBase
AIS Antenna

Quote:
Originally Posted by Last Tango View Post
That's about all the encouragement I needed.......Thanks..


Was in the pub having dinner, so couldn’t go into detail. I have 2 identical antennae mounted on opposite sides of the A frame around 4’ apart. One for the VHF, t’other for the AIS. Both work perfectly, no issues. They are Procomm antennae. They are both vertical in reality, the photo makes them look pissedClick image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4556.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	127297
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2018, 03:21   #7
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,426
I use a single Antanee on the A Frame that is connected to an AIS Splitter box which splits the single to an AIS box and to the VHF set. It also has an output for FM/AM radio. So VHF, AIS and FM/AM signals go through one Antanee. Works fine.

Also I use quality gold plated type of VHF connectors and decent cable run through deck to a connector plug in transome then Antanee cable runs through A Frame to connector plug in transome. (That way if I need to replace Antanee at any point its just a simple run of cable back to that plug through A Frame rather than a long run through deck to console.
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2018, 08:36   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheltenham
Boat name: Mavi Su
Make: Cobra Nautique 6.6
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150
MMSI: 235114058
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 189
RIBase
small rod for the size of bait used in the photo!
__________________
You Can't cross an Ocean unless you have lost site of shore.
charliee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2018, 15:10   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,489
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliee View Post
small rod for the size of bait used in the photo!


He has a sensitive touch does our Brian
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 October 2018, 03:26   #10
Member
 
Last Tango's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Denny
Boat name: Hebridean Storm
Make: Coastline
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner F150
MMSI: 235107505
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,240
Thanks for the responses guys.
I think I've probably "over-googled" this. Looks like it's not a problem. (Boris.. the instructions said "no splitters" but I've no doubt that would be fine too.)
I've already bought two aerials for the AIS so I'll just fire one of them on the "A" frame and join the damned.
__________________

__________________
Last Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.