Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 January 2014, 17:09   #1
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
Adjustable transom mounting board

Hi all, I have just bought a Raymarine MFD with transom mounted downvision transducer that I'm going to fit sometime soon.

Having seen the problems that people have had mounting transducers on the transom I did some Googling and found videos and photos of adjustable transom mounting boards, allowing you to play with the depths without drilling loads of holes in your transom, but I can't find anyone actually selling them despite searching here and elsewhere. I'd possibly be able to make one, but time is of a premium these days, and I'm sure it would look like a Blue Peter effort!

So, does anyone know where I could buy an adjustable mounting board?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2014, 12:56   #2
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Get a piece of plywood, about 3-4 inches wide by a couple-three feet long, and temporarily mount the ducer to it; clamp the assembly to your boat. Big C-clamps will work fine, as will most large woodworking clamps. The wood should not extend beyond the hull line, but the transducer should (at least a bit.)

All you're trying to do is identify a position that works; you're not temporarily mounting it for months (hopefully.)

The normal starting configuration will be with the midline of the ducer even with the hull; move it up or down as required to get the performance you want at various speeds.


jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2014, 13:14   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Seattle
Boat name: Water Dog
Make: Polaris
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,152
Most transducer brackets actually have 1-2 cm of adjustability built into them. The Raymarine P66 transducer (I assume this is yours?) can move up and down a little, tilt up the sending unit at the hinge and you can readjust it if its too low or high.
__________________
captnjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2014, 13:32   #4
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
If possible & you have a solid hull with no air spaces, mount the transducer in the splash-well or similar area using epoxy resin. Done that on ours & it works a treat with no loss of signal at speed & if we happen to ground, no damage to the unit! Yay!
__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 January 2014, 13:39   #5
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
Thanks for the info. It's the CPT-100 transducer, specifically for the down vision system.

I'm not sure you get the full picture as clearly as the system can give if you mount it inside the hull but I can try with the water filled bag method if the transom mount doesn't go too well.
__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 January 2014, 15:07   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by captnjack View Post
Most transducer brackets actually have 1-2 cm of adjustability built into them. The Raymarine P66 transducer (I assume this is yours?) can move up and down a little, tilt up the sending unit at the hinge and you can readjust it if its too low or high.
Yup, but that doesn't allow you to move side-to-side to find a location that doesn't get interference from chines, prop, and other turbulence-causing things.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2014, 07:22   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Once you have it positioned, stick a lump of real wood onto the transom with something like sikaflex and paint with epoxy paint to match the hull colour.

- no holes and if its anything like mine that 1/2" back means the 'ducer is positioned above hull line due to the water rising behind the transom. (potentially meaning slightly less chance of impact damage)
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2014, 11:14   #8
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
On my boat, the aluminum hull has a 2" lip where the hull extends past the back of the motor pod. To mount the transducer, I took a scrap 2"x3" lump of UHMW, formed to fit reasonably well on the lip (the angle was something other than 90 degrees, and I had to take the lower edge off to accommodate the weld), then glued/screwed it in place (screws up through the lip, glued to the pod - no holes into dry areas.)

Did the same with a paddlewheel speed sensor, which, realistically, never gets used.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.