Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 March 2015, 10:30   #1
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 85
Accutroll fuel flow meter

Anyone got any experience with Accutroll flow meters? Have one fitted but it doesn't work any ideas on what I should look at first?? Cheers
__________________

__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2015, 19:47   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyMW View Post
Anyone got any experience with Accutroll flow meters? Have one fitted but it doesn't work any ideas on what I should look at first?? Cheers
No idea about the flow meters, what engine is it connected to?
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 08:44   #3
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 85
Hi it's connected to the fuel line and a Suzuki DF140. I'm not sure how it works but measures fuel consumption in litres/hr so would be quite useful. Think I will try to strip it down and contact Accutroll for some help, cheers
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 08:50   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyMW View Post
Hi it's connected to the fuel line and a Suzuki DF140. I'm not sure how it works but measures fuel consumption in litres/hr so would be quite useful. Think I will try to strip it down and contact Accutroll for some help, cheers
Depending on which model of DF140 it is, you might not need the Accutroll. In-line flow meters are notoriously inaccurate & problematic. If your DF140 is NMEA 2000 compatible, you should be able to get very accurate fuel flow data straight from the engine ecu & bin the flow meter.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 09:18   #5
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Depending on which model of DF140 it is, you might not need the Accutroll. In-line flow meters are notoriously inaccurate & problematic. If your DF140 is NMEA 2000 compatible, you should be able to get very accurate fuel flow data straight from the engine ecu & bin the flow meter.

Thanks Dave, how would I know whether it was NMEA 2000 compatible (it's a 2006 model) and then how would I get the information from the ecu. I'm assuming I would need another Suzuki dial? As you can see I'm a complete novice when it comes to engines and especially electronics!!!
Cheers
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 10:13   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyMW View Post
Thanks Dave, how would I know whether it was NMEA 2000 compatible (it's a 2006 model) and then how would I get the information from the ecu. I'm assuming I would need another Suzuki dial? As you can see I'm a complete novice when it comes to engines and especially electronics!!!
Cheers
You could ring Suzuki customer services on 0500 011 959 & give them the engine & model number & they should be able to tell you if its NMEA2k compliant or not. If it is, you will need to install a NMEA2K network on your boat if you haven't already, don't worry, it isn't as daunting as it sounds. This will allow you to get all sorts of info from your engine & display it on a NMEA2K plotter (if you have one) Info like MPG/fuel remaining/range on current fuel remaining/engine temps/battery voltages/oil pressure etc. It all depends on what you have already got installed on the boat as to how much it will cost. The fuel data is VERY accurate as it is direct from the ECU. AFAIK 2006 was around the time of the transition to NMEA2K, it certainly was with Evinrude so I assume that Suzi was around the same time, you might get lucky
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 15:11   #7
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
You could ring Suzuki customer services on 0500 011 959 & give them the engine & model number & they should be able to tell you if its NMEA2k compliant or not. If it is, you will need to install a NMEA2K network on your boat if you haven't already, don't worry, it isn't as daunting as it sounds. This will allow you to get all sorts of info from your engine & display it on a NMEA2K plotter (if you have one) Info like MPG/fuel remaining/range on current fuel remaining/engine temps/battery voltages/oil pressure etc. It all depends on what you have already got installed on the boat as to how much it will cost. The fuel data is VERY accurate as it is direct from the ECU. AFAIK 2006 was around the time of the transition to NMEA2K, it certainly was with Evinrude so I assume that Suzi was around the same time, you might get lucky

Dave, Much appreciated I will call Suzuki and let you know how I get on. I've got a Lowrance HD7 plotter so I'll check that to see if it is NMEA2K compliant. Hopefully I'll be lucky! Really appreciate your time. Cheers
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 15:27   #8
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyMW View Post
Dave, Much appreciated I will call Suzuki and let you know how I get on. I've got a Lowrance HD7 plotter so I'll check that to see if it is NMEA2K compliant. Hopefully I'll be lucky! Really appreciate your time. Cheers

Just checked on the the web and it would appear that both my engine and plotter are NMEAK2 compliant so with the right connector I should be able to set it up. I can also get some digital dials which will allow me to replace the current needle dials which are full of condensation that I can get rid of. Thanks again for your help! Now to decide what I do with the hole in the console when I remove the Accutroll.
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 15:46   #9
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
I've actually got a 4" SMIS gauge here for sale. I contacted Browns Point Marine in the US as to whether my DF140 was compatible with the SMIS, apparently it is but it supplies limited infor due to its year (2003).

They sent an email with all the necessary items required to use both the smis and chart plotter to supply engine info. It worked out at about 300 +shipping.

Google the SMIS gauges, its quite a bit of kit.
__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 17:02   #10
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,093
i don't know about that meter but i have just recently installed NMEA on my sooz 200 with analog gauges, you don't need the new SMIS guages if you have a suitable chartplotter.

you need to make sure of a few things when your ordering the kit to do this, assuming your sooz is compatible. when i first installed the kit i was getting 21 gallons per hour at idle fuel usage!!!eeek

you need to make sure you get the smis cable with the correct firmware. when suzuki first sent mine i had v2.8, you will need v2.9 for accurate fuel readings. I don't know why but only v2.3 and v2.9 seem to work for fuel readings. you may also need a adapter cable, this will depend on the engine you have though.

brill thread with a lot of info-

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...-can-done.html

cheers
__________________

__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.