Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 March 2015, 17:32   #11
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
Pah! There goes a sale!

When you say adaptor do you mean the K8?

I'm led to believe from BPM that only 2008> required the adaptor?
__________________

__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 17:43   #12
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by A1an View Post
Pah! There goes a sale!

When you say adaptor do you mean the K8?

I'm led to believe from BPM that only 2008> required the adaptor?
The SMIS will fill the hole nicely though
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 17:50   #13
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,088
Hey A1an,

Sorry buddy, certainly not my intention to interrupt a sale. Just pointing out there is a LOT of mis-info about on doing this....including from suzuki as my own experience proves. if the OP doesn't have a plotter than i'd recommend the gauge....just so happens i know where one is for sale!

depending on the age of the motor will depend on the type of SMIS connector the motor has. I have the new square plug, older engines have a round port if memory serves (i didn't pay a lot of attention to it as it didn't apply to my engine i have to admit, so double check). you may need a gender change cable to the SMIS adapter to whack it into a suitable chartplotter.

i have my sooz connected to my garmin 750 and 551s, i'm currently doing accuracy tests but the numbers seem in the ball park anyway....note....the piccy has the plotter set to USA gallons, it is therefore over reading. I changed it today but you get idea. i did wonder why the 551 was showing 1 gallon ish per hour less than the 750

the cheapest way to get NMEA seems to be a garmin network starter kit if that matters to anyone.

cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150314_170136.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	77.0 KB
ID:	103633  
__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 17:55   #14
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
That's exactly what I want to do with mine.

Unfortunately I've spent more on this "cheap" boat than I care to admit to the wife, spunking ANOTHER £350 into it at the minute is a non starter.

Maybe next year.
__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2015, 18:06   #15
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,088
I have only used it for maybe 20 miles thus far but it is quite handy if you're going out for a while as one click of trim could result in a few litres more/less fuel an hour.

it is more accurate than watching the speed/rev gauge on their own to find the sweet spot.

TBH, the main reason i done this is the fuel guage on the ribcraft is crap, as soon as you hit the laughing stick the needle goes to half a tank from full.

the only thing i need to do is get the trim working, that is still working via the analog gauge just now.

hope this helps the OP out anyway.

cheers
__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2015, 06:54   #16
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubrus View Post
Hey A1an,

Sorry buddy, certainly not my intention to interrupt a sale. Just pointing out there is a LOT of mis-info about on doing this....including from suzuki as my own experience proves. if the OP doesn't have a plotter than i'd recommend the gauge....just so happens i know where one is for sale!

depending on the age of the motor will depend on the type of SMIS connector the motor has. I have the new square plug, older engines have a round port if memory serves (i didn't pay a lot of attention to it as it didn't apply to my engine i have to admit, so double check). you may need a gender change cable to the SMIS adapter to whack it into a suitable chartplotter.

i have my sooz connected to my garmin 750 and 551s, i'm currently doing accuracy tests but the numbers seem in the ball park anyway....note....the piccy has the plotter set to USA gallons, it is therefore over reading. I changed it today but you get idea. i did wonder why the 551 was showing 1 gallon ish per hour less than the 750

the cheapest way to get NMEA seems to be a garmin network starter kit if that matters to anyone.

cheers

Thanks for your input - I've got a chart plotter that is NMEA compliant so could use this or put in the digital gauge to fill the hole left by the Accutroll. Lowrance do an NMEA starter kit which I can pick up for £50ish and I'll have to find out which connector I need for the Suzuki. How easy a job is it?
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2015, 06:56   #17
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by A1an View Post
I've actually got a 4" SMIS gauge here for sale. I contacted Browns Point Marine in the US as to whether my DF140 was compatible with the SMIS, apparently it is but it supplies limited infor due to its year (2003).

They sent an email with all the necessary items required to use both the smis and chart plotter to supply engine info. It worked out at about £300 +shipping.

Google the SMIS gauges, its quite a bit of kit.

Hi what do you want for it?? Do you have any pics and would it be 2006 compliant? cheers
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2015, 14:26   #18
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,088
What plotter do you have?

Also, do you know what connection is on the engine?

It isn't difficult to do no.

Cheers
__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2015, 15:44   #19
Member
 
JohnnyMW's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chester
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: Osprey Vipermax 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Etec 200 HO
MMSI: 235114488
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubrus View Post
What plotter do you have?

Also, do you know what connection is on the engine?

It isn't difficult to do no.

Cheers

Hi I've got a Lowrance HDS 7 and I'm not sure about they engine connection yet! I'll check at the weekend. What kit will I need? Cheers
__________________
JohnnyMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2015, 15:57   #20
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,088
i believe you don't even need an NMEA network to connect the HDS7 up to the sooz, i'm sure i read you can just plug it right into the back of the unit somewhere as lowrance make all suzuki gauges. let me do some checking and i'll let you know.

well, simrad make some now too but they are spank new.

cheers
__________________

__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.