Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 March 2018, 11:03   #1
Member
 
Vinny31's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Armagh
Make: Xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 145
A funny thing happened last Friday

So we took the opportunity last Friday to take our newly purchased Xs rib for another run out on Lough Neagh.

After a coffee stop in Antrim we decided to head over towards Toome with a view to checking out the lough gates. A plan is being formulated for later in the year to cross the lough and enter the Bann River at Toome before heading north to castlerock and the north channel.

So we here we were scooting along at 40 knots with the lough to ourselves and about half way to Toome it seemed as if we had dropped off the edge of a page on the gps. Contours and other details stopped and all we had was an orange background and our track.

Iím presuming we reached the edge of the area covered by whatever card our Lowrance lcx-20 currently has fitted ?

Iím thinking we may also need a new transducer for it as it doesnít seem to read depth very well.

Anyone else using this gps and could recommend a new transducer?
Thanks in advance.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3042.jpg
Views:	193
Size:	106.8 KB
ID:	123800Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3037.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	123801Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3038.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	215.2 KB
ID:	123802Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3041.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	130.2 KB
ID:	123803Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3039.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	123804
__________________

__________________
Vinny31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2018, 18:52   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: reiver 3.8/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: 40hp 2st 2x6lp 315
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,254
Sounds like you went off the chart as you say
Does the depth sounder work at slow speeds? Not many work well at 40kts
__________________

__________________
beamishken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2018, 19:16   #3
Member
 
Vinny31's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Armagh
Make: Xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 145
A funny thing happened last Friday

It must be working to a degree, as it seems to give a reading then just maintains that figure and flashes. In general the lough is v shallow, I may need to play around with scales and settings etc.

Iíve also noticed that we seem to get max economy of around 0.9l/nm at approximately 4600rpm, thought that seems quite high for cruising speed .
Every day is a school day.
__________________
Vinny31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2018, 20:06   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: reiver 3.8/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: 40hp 2st 2x6lp 315
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,254
Ours does the same occasionally at 25 kts sounds like your just going too fast for it to pick up a return
__________________
beamishken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 March 2018, 05:48   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Length: 5m +
Engine: 135hp Mercury
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 880
How's your tranducer mounted - as in is it in clear water or as you increase your speed does it end up in increasingly turbulent or aerated water?
I get much the same with depth as the faster I go the less hull is in the water!

Can also get very upset in shallow water - which can be weed not far below the surface, something I see more when I use it on other boats in reservoirs. I've also seen others have the same problem on Rutland Water when using their own sounders on the fishery hire boats so not just my Dragonfly.
__________________
paintman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 March 2018, 06:04   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinny31 View Post
It must be working to a degree, as it seems to give a reading then just maintains that figure and flashes. In general the lough is v shallow, I may need to play around with scales and settings etc.

I’ve also noticed that we seem to get max economy of around 0.9l/nm at approximately 4600rpm, thought that seems quite high for cruising speed .
Every day is a school day.
re depth reading same happened to me last year with my lowrance thought it was the transducer sent mine back to flowrance it turns out it was the chartplotter not the transducer got a replacement under guarantee kept the transducer.

re chart as said possibly off the chart but if you send it in they will tell you if there's a fault
edit sent back to lowrance just out of guarantee but they sorted FOC great after sales service you might get a deal on a new one if its caput from them worth a try.
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2018, 07:56   #7
Member
 
Vinny31's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Armagh
Make: Xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintman View Post
How's your tranducer mounted - as in is it in clear water or as you increase your speed does it end up in increasingly turbulent or aerated water?
I get much the same with depth as the faster I go the less hull is in the water!

Can also get very upset in shallow water - which can be weed not far below the surface, something I see more when I use it on other boats in reservoirs. I've also seen others have the same problem on Rutland Water when using their own sounders on the fishery hire boats so not just my Dragonfly.


The transducer is transom mounted, it doesnít seem to give a good reading even when still.
Tbh it may be a setting issue, Iíll have to see can I download a user manual.
__________________
Vinny31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2018, 08:20   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,463
transducer setting info make sure you are set to the transducer you have on the unit.
mine showed 145 feet in knee depth of water
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0640 transducer diagram.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	103.1 KB
ID:	123820   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0641 transducer diagram.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	101.7 KB
ID:	123821  
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2018, 10:06   #9
Member
 
Vinny31's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Armagh
Make: Xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffstevens763@g View Post
transducer setting info make sure you are set to the transducer you have on the unit.

mine showed 145 feet in knee depth of water


Brilliant thanks, mine is mounted in the shaded area and parallel to the water line.
__________________

__________________
Vinny31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×