Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 March 2005, 10:47   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brittany/Portsmouth
Boat name: Merlin
Make: Solent 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200
MMSI: soon !
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5,451
2 fuel flow sensors in series

anyone know or have experience of having 2 fuel flow sensors in series. not sure if there will be a problem . The etec has one for its smart gauge and the navman 6600 also has one which give more info. I' ve had no joy out of Jets , kinda expected that

paul
__________________

__________________
Happy New Resolutions!!! : RIBbing for the craic!!!
The Jackeens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2005, 13:47   #2
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Ribcrafts
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp/2x115hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,115
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to CJL
It depends how close the sensors are placed together and if they use an impeller or not. Some large volume gauges use a magnetice device (Mag meter) to work out the volume but the fluid needs to be constant and have no turbulence in the flow. Impellers meters close to each other will result in the second one giving incorrect readings.

I've got loads of info on this if you want but its more to do with high volumes. Let me know and I can bring it to this weekend or PM me and I`ll email it to you.

Chris
__________________

__________________
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2005, 16:55   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nr Faversham, Kent
Boat name: C Rider
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 80
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 479
Be careful. There will be a small pressure drop accross each sensor. Add all these up and you could find the fuel flow at WOT is reduced, leading to more serious problems.

Maybe someone can clarify this?

ATB.

Tim'mers.
__________________
Searider - The Best 5.4 x Far
Swifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 March 2005, 05:38   #4
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
I do know that the Optimax engines are recomended not to have a fuel flow sensor - I realise you have an ETEC so it's not 100% relevant ...............
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 March 2005, 12:49   #5
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Ribcrafts
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp/2x115hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,115
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to CJL
I can bring a photocopy of a doc on Saturday which tells all.

Ribnet wont let me post it up as its a pdf and too big. If you really want it PM me with your email address and I`ll send it in two bits.

Chris
__________________
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 March 2005, 20:03   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Blackpool
Boat name: eyore
Length: no boat
Engine: donkie engine
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 33
dunno, but yew'll need some sillica jell for the navman! (wo'nt he Gav?) [link] Navman de-mister /[link]
__________________

__________________
Have a look at my friendly donkey site: http://www.donkeybreedsociety.co.uk
crazydonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.