Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 18 September 2008, 02:42   #1
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Auckland
Boat name: Seriola
Make: Lancer
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 50HP
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
1 kw on the transom

Has anyone put 1kw on the transom of a 4.5m semi Rib any opinions or thoughts would be apreciated.
Thanks Nirai
__________________

__________________
nirai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 September 2008, 04:13   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
A 1.25hp outboard?
__________________

__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 September 2008, 04:41   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Nirai,

Welcome to Ribnet.

I guess you are asking one of two possible questions,
1) thoughts on a 1.2Hp outboard, and your Q has been posted in the wrong section.
2) thoughts on some 1Kw transmitting device. (radar, radio)

if 1), I have a 2Hp (approx 1.5Kw) auxiliary on a 5m (approx half ton) due to a lack of space between the A- frame & the main engine. Suffice to say I'm looking for something a bit bigger! If you just want to pootle about slowly, 1Kw will be fine in calm conditions.

if 2), I reckon it's the quickest way to fry your brains! So make sure it's on a high enough pole / frame to clear your head when standing. Also 1Kw @12V is a lot of current. Make sure your battery / alternator can cope!
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 September 2008, 09:35   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: lincoln
Boat name: blazer
Make: BWM
Length: 6m +
Engine: YAMAHA 115hp
MMSI: 235059902
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 115
Do You Mean A 1kw Transducer
__________________
shirehorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 September 2008, 03:53   #5
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Auckland
Boat name: Seriola
Make: Lancer
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 50HP
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
Thats right 1kw Transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by shirehorse View Post
Do You Mean A 1kw Transducer
1kw Transducer. I have a Lowrance LCX27c with 600w at the moment but will want to Jig fish 300+m this summer. I just wondered if any of you guys have mounted 1kw on your boats?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00625.JPG
Views:	183
Size:	140.2 KB
ID:	37596   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image001.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	37597  
__________________
nirai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 September 2008, 03:59   #6
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Auckland
Boat name: Seriola
Make: Lancer
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 50HP
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
1 kw Transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk Diggler View Post
A 1.25hp outboard?
lol lol lol
1kw Transducer, Seriola wears a 50HP Tohatsu
__________________
nirai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 September 2008, 11:16   #7
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Note that simply changing the transducer won't get you more power; the head unit has to be able to send a more powerful signal as well.

The transducer is rated for a maximum amount of power it will handle (in your case, 600W vs 1KW), the head unit is what actually sends the power.

The amount of power you decide to use will have no positive or negative impact on a small RIB. It'll just be a transducer hanging off the back, clicking happily away.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 September 2008, 16:12   #8
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Do you really have a 1kw transducer - surely that would need about 80 amps to drive at 12V?
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 September 2008, 17:54   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Here
Boat name: doggypaddle
Make: Avon 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 80
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogMonster View Post
Do you really have a 1kw transducer - surely that would need about 80 amps to drive at 12V?
They arent rated continuous though are they? it will a 1kw narrow pulse. average power will be a small fraction. ( i think)
__________________
doggypaddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 September 2008, 02:20   #10
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Auckland
Boat name: Seriola
Make: Lancer
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 50HP
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 6
LCX 27C rated to 1kw

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Note that simply changing the transducer won't get you more power; the head unit has to be able to send a more powerful signal as well.

The transducer is rated for a maximum amount of power it will handle (in your case, 600W vs 1KW), the head unit is what actually sends the power.

The amount of power you decide to use will have no positive or negative impact on a small RIB. It'll just be a transducer hanging off the back, clicking happily away.

jky
I am certain and am informed LCX27c head unit will do 1kw.
__________________

__________________
nirai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.