Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 February 2015, 06:16   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Carpe Diem
Make: Ribeye 650S
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F150
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 547
YAMMIE F150 won't trim down

Hi folks, I have been working in the console area yesterday as I have been fitting a new chartplotter. Anyway the trim down button on the throttle doesn't work but the trim up button on the throttle does work. The trim up and down button also work on the engine itself so I am guessing I have knocked/chafed a wire in the console area or I have a faulty switch on the throttle control. As the boat is 90 miles away I want to make sure I understand as much as I can before I go next weekend please can anybody help with the following:

Does the throttle trim wire (green and white for trim down?) go straight to the engine as part of main wiring loom or does it go to a can bus junction box?

Has anybody got a copy of a wiring diagram I could have please?

Anybody else have any suggestions as to what I might have done?

Thanks in advance for your help
__________________

__________________
whackywoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2015, 06:35   #2
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
You've answered most of your own questions, sound like you've pulled a wire, best way you've pulled a bullet connection apart, worst way is a buggered trim switch, if you can find the bullet connectors coming from the suspect switch, swap the wire over to see if the fault transfers as well, if it does it's the switch if it doesn't it's the wiring


Sent from my iPad using RIB Net
__________________

__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2015, 06:51   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Carpe Diem
Make: Ribeye 650S
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F150
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 547
Thanks for the suggestion Biff I will try that at the weekend!
__________________
whackywoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 February 2015, 16:22   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: penzance
Boat name: noname
Make: sportique
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150HPDI
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
The older Yam control box has 3 wires leading off the trim switch, terminated in waterproof bullet connectors within a foor of the box. This then plugs into the loom. See if you've just pulled one out.
__________________
flatfootskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 February 2015, 19:04   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Carpe Diem
Make: Ribeye 650S
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F150
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 547
Thanks lads, found a pin backed out argggghhhhhhhh but could have been a lot worse!!!
__________________
whackywoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.