Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 June 2013, 05:55   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: aberdeen
Boat name: my rib
Make: avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: petrol
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 50
Yamaha tilt and trim problem

My Yamaha 40 hp tilt and trim has recently started working slowly and then stopping completely and then all that can be heard is clicking. I checked the battery, which still seems to be ok and spinning the starter over with ease, checked all the appropriate connections and cleaned them. I decided to lift it manually, started to remove the starter, on loosening the bolts, browny colour fluid came out, so I tightened the bolts back up, tried the switch and then it was working again. Following day I tried it several times, then again it started slowing down then stopped again and back to just clicking. I'm starting to think that maybe my motor is the problem and if so, does anyone know where I could obtain an after market motor, as was quoted nearly 800 for a replacement and don't really want to change it if this might not even be the problem.
__________________

__________________
earthdog1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2013, 06:02   #2
AJ.
RIBnet supporter
 
AJ.'s Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: Impulse
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,020
Have you topped up the hydraulic fluid reservoir?
__________________
AJ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2013, 06:07   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: aberdeen
Boat name: my rib
Make: avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: petrol
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 50
no i have not, but would the motor not still be working, just not lifting?
__________________
earthdog1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2013, 06:14   #4
AJ.
RIBnet supporter
 
AJ.'s Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: Impulse
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by earthdog1970 View Post
no i have not, but would the motor not still be working, just not lifting?
When I first got my boat same happened slowed up and then stopped. Worth a try before forking out on a new unit. Check the reservoir and if it is low top it up
__________________
AJ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2013, 08:39   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: aberdeen
Boat name: my rib
Make: avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: petrol
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 50
OK thanks for that ,i have some on the way and when i get it will give that a try.would still like to source a cheaper motor just in case if anyone can help.
__________________
earthdog1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2013, 10:16   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Make: ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: 100
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 194
Do these electric motors have brushes, if so maybe new ones.
__________________
ribber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2013, 10:37   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: aberdeen
Boat name: my rib
Make: avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: petrol
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 50
yes I guess they would have, but the hard part would be getting hold of them.
__________________
earthdog1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 June 2013, 10:33   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: aberdeen
Boat name: my rib
Make: avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: petrol
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 50
Yamaha tilt and trim problem

(NOT SO GOOD),turning but very slowly one way and a bit better the other can anyone help with finding a replacement .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0502.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	105.5 KB
ID:	81198  
__________________
earthdog1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 June 2013, 13:07   #9
Member
 
neil.mccrirrick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oldham
Boat name: Nemanda
Make: Aluminium
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp Tohatsu
MMSI: 235065639
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 869
I'd bleed it first. Mine was exactly the same, bigger motor, topped it off and bled it a few times all good now

Sent from my iPad using Rib.net
__________________
If you don't like my opinion, I have others.
neil.mccrirrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 June 2013, 16:43   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: hydradrive
Make: yamaha
Length: no boat
Engine: sterndrives
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil.mccrirrick View Post
I'd bleed it first. Mine was exactly the same, bigger motor, topped it off and bled it a few times all good now

Sent from my iPad using Rib.net
Sounds like the brushes any electric motor works can source an replace these .
__________________

__________________
yam man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.