Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 March 2010, 08:24   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Plymuff
Boat name: Stingray
Make: Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115hp mercury
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
yamaha tacho

Hi Guys

quick question,
will a yamaha Tacho used for a 4stroke engine work with a two stoke?

thanks
__________________

__________________
markymarkP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 March 2010, 15:10   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
there may be a "dial" on the back needs setting to indicate the number of poles on the alternator
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 March 2010, 16:28   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Length: no boat
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 215
OK this all DEPENDS if your fourstroke tach is digital as most of the fourstroke Yami's now are on the digital NETWORK system . If this gauge is Digital it will NOT work . Is this gauge you have an Analoge gauge ( does it have a needle as a reading and wires coming off it ) If YES then this will connect to the control box harness . most common box is the 703 . Le tme know .
__________________
outboardtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 March 2010, 11:47   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
I thought anything prior to the command link guages were interchangeable between 4 stroke and 2. These included the non-command-link digital guages (I think Yam called it the Multi-Function Display or something like that.) Point being, it's not just the analog needle displays that would be usable.


jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 March 2010, 18:05   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Plymuff
Boat name: Stingray
Make: Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115hp mercury
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
hmmm
the gauge i have is digital, but faulty, hence trying to swap out.
so unsure of what i can do
__________________
markymarkP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2010, 11:22   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
The question is: Digital in the sense that it displays in a non-analog format, or digital in the sense that it uses digital signals from the motor to convert and display the information?

I suspect that, if both the motors are pre-2006 (I think that's when Yam came out with their Command Link scheme), it is an analog guage that displays digitally.

Assuming you can look at them, you can compare the Yam guages here

I think you're looking at the multi-function guages. The Command Link (which, I believe, won't work for you) are listed separately in a different heading. The site lists the same part number multi-function tach for both the F115 (4-stroke) and your 90-2-stroke, so the answer to your question is yes, they are compatible. As I recall, there's a DIP switch that sets between 2-stroke and 4.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.