Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 January 2015, 16:46   #1
ncp
Member
 
ncp's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Town: California
Make: Avon 5.4m Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,191
Yamaha Rigging Question - two-stroke controls

Ok, finally time to rig the mid 80's Yamaha 90 two-stroke on the SR5.4.

The engine came with Yamaha 704 controls and the little key switch panel shown in picture #2.

Since I need to mount this on the right side of a jockey console, I bought a basically new 703. I believe that I got the correct throttle linkage (push versus pull) and I can alway buy that part if I was wrong.

Question though - I don't have what I believe to a choke switch on the 703 control box. Necessary? Do I need it? Can I add it?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1420839899316.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	102209   Click image for larger version

Name:	1420839921403.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	102210   Click image for larger version

Name:	1420839942297.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	102211  
__________________

__________________
ncp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 January 2015, 16:53   #2
ncp
Member
 
ncp's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Town: California
Make: Avon 5.4m Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,191
Engine pics
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1420840388591.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	70.8 KB
ID:	102212   Click image for larger version

Name:	1420840424965.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	69.0 KB
ID:	102213  
__________________

__________________
ncp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 January 2015, 17:16   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
Im sure the ign switch is the choke. Just push the ign key when in.
__________________
Member of S.A.B.S. West Country Division
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 January 2015, 17:31   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: SMH Rib / War Shot
Make: Ribtec / Scorpion
Length: 4m +
Engine: 10hp Yam / 150hp opt
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,894
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt h View Post
Im sure the ign switch is the choke. Just push the ign key when in.
This.
__________________
Searider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 January 2015, 17:55   #5
ncp
Member
 
ncp's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Town: California
Make: Avon 5.4m Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,191
Thanks - this will save me a lot of headache if this is the case.
__________________
ncp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2015, 04:12   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: wormit
Boat name: lots of them
Make: various
Length: no boat
Engine: all types
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 388
If the choke does not work for you when pressing the key in the blue wire on the back of the ignition switch needs plugged in.
__________________
Davie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2015, 04:41   #7
Member
 
darklordhill's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Boat name: Red Alert
Make: Solent SR600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 125hp
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncp View Post

Question though - I don't have what I believe to a choke switch on the 703 control box. Necessary? Do I need it? Can I add it?

Thanks!
If its the same as mine you just push the ignition key in to operate the choke
__________________

__________________
darklordhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.