Old 23 October 2004, 09:51   #1

Town: Newark
Boat name: free spirit
Make: viking
Length: no boat
Engine: Outboard Petrol 25hp
Yamaha Autolube

I am a novice and own a 25 NEO, 25hp Yamaha Autolube outboard 1990. Just recently whilst out, the alarm has gone off indicating the oil tank is low, which it isn't. This cuts the engine revs to tickover. Judging by the smoke in the exhaust the oil is getting through OK, and there is a strong stream of water coming from the cooling system, engine not overheating. The alarm only comes on after approx 1 hour's running, not paticulary heavy work, and then again fairly quickly after resetting. Anyone any idea's where to start looking
Old 23 October 2004, 15:10   #2

Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Tone, the bigger Yams have the sender unit on a stalk in the engine oil tank. It looks like a brass slider on the stalk. Is it stuck ? also there should be a brass screw to bleed the oil pump, by just releasing it oil and any air bubbles will escape from the pump and then just tighten up, carefully its only brass.

Curious its after an hours running, how old is the oil in it ? and was it quicksilver ? or is the oil contaminated ?

Pete
Old 23 October 2004, 15:24   #3

Hi Pete, thanks for your reply. The oil is new, and yes it is Quicksilver. Judging from the half empty bottles the guy before had used Motorbike 2-stroke. Originally I had topped up and unwittingly mixed it with the Quicksilver. Thinking that may have caused the problem I syphoned the oil out and replaced with fresh Quicksilver Marine. I have examined the stalk containing the float, it appears to be OK. Is the washher on the end of the stalk significant? It looks a bit worn. I will look for the brass bleed nut. Should I switch from Quicksilver? Thanks for your help again
Old 23 October 2004, 17:36   #4

Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +