Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 22 August 2018, 15:09   #1
alt
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway, West Eire
Make: Cranchi
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2 x Volvo KAD300
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 661
Send a message via MSN to alt
Yamaha 75C - LCD Multi-Function Tachograph - No Trim / Oil / Temp

Hi all,
Friend just bought a Zodiac with 2 x Yamaha 75c with the multi-function LCD tachograph.

On both Multi-function LCD tachographs....
RPM Works

Trim / Oil / Temp NOT working. Trim on fully down, no oil indicating, Temp is flashing.

We have checked connections, all seem fine. Checked 20A fuse on the engine - OK.

I disconnected one of the wiring connectors (There's 2 connectors and approx 4 bullet connectors going to teach Display) and the Trim showed full up, just as an aside while wiggling around with bits.

As this is on both engines, I can't help but feel that something was disconnected by the previous owner.

The only other thing I can think of, may not be related, is that the RIB has aftermarket controls, there is no 704 control box.

Any thoughts on where to start?
__________________

__________________
alt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 August 2018, 15:34   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: suffolk
Boat name: not yet
Make: Nautica
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 115 4 stroke
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 305
suspect the two trim sensors are stuck and need wd40 and fiddle then tighten them up on their shaft,if you can imagine the finger actuators stick in the down indicated position ,then when you raise the engines the whole sensor turns on the mounting shaft so remains showing down
__________________

__________________
Orwell boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 August 2018, 15:46   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: wormit
Boat name: lots of them
Make: various
Length: no boat
Engine: all types
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 469
Perfect example of the dip switches in back of gauges are set for 4stroke engines and the wrong trim sender unit. Take the grommet out the back of each rev counter and flick the two dip switches to the right of the three to. the opposite of what they are at the moment. You need a tiny flat screwdriver to do the job.
__________________
Davie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 August 2018, 16:39   #4
alt
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway, West Eire
Make: Cranchi
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2 x Volvo KAD300
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 661
Send a message via MSN to alt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davie View Post
Perfect example of the dip switches in back of gauges are set for 4stroke engines and the wrong trim sender unit. Take the grommet out the back of each rev counter and flick the two dip switches to the right of the three to. the opposite of what they are at the moment. You need a tiny flat screwdriver to do the job.
Wow, thanks a million for this info, will give it a try,
__________________
alt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 August 2018, 16:39   #5
alt
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway, West Eire
Make: Cranchi
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2 x Volvo KAD300
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 661
Send a message via MSN to alt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orwell boy View Post
suspect the two trim sensors are stuck and need wd40 and fiddle then tighten them up on their shaft,if you can imagine the finger actuators stick in the down indicated position ,then when you raise the engines the whole sensor turns on the mounting shaft so remains showing down
Many thanks - i'll try the other suggestion first and will also check out your suggestion if no joy.
__________________
alt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 August 2018, 17:08   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: suffolk
Boat name: not yet
Make: Nautica
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 115 4 stroke
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 305
while on the subject anybody know how to tweak us speed and fuel gauge 2010/11 ,to get it into litres from us gallons or uk gallons ?? no grommit on back i dont think ,thanks
__________________
Orwell boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 August 2018, 10:27   #7
alt
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway, West Eire
Make: Cranchi
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2 x Volvo KAD300
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 661
Send a message via MSN to alt
You were both right! Wrong settings on the Tacho and the trim senders were stuck. We managed to free one, but the other is a right off, so going to replace one.

Now the search for the part.... it's the 2-wire sender.
__________________
alt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 August 2018, 16:23   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: suffolk
Boat name: not yet
Make: Nautica
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 115 4 stroke
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by alt View Post
You were both right! Wrong settings on the Tacho and the trim senders were stuck. We managed to free one, but the other is a right off, so going to replace one.

Now the search for the part.... it's the 2-wire sender.
You might regret one being a right off when you price a new one up !!
__________________

__________________
Orwell boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
yamaha

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.