Old 16 July 2018, 13:31   #1

Length: 5m +
Yamaha 150hp Engine help

Hi all,

Newbie here. I have been searching the web trying to pin down a specific Problem I am having with my 4 stroke 2009 Yamaha 150 outboard for some time now. This forum has been a gold mine for information.

The problem:
The engine starts perfectly and gets up to full speed on flat water on my 5.8m RIB. Once the swell builds up all it takes it one light/medium bang on the bow from a wave and the engine instantly starts making a grumbling noise, slows to about half speed and vibrates. It's as if the bangs is throwing somthing off inside.

I have had new injectors installed and still the problem persists. When this happens the hand pump bulb on the fuel line also goes soft, having some one pump it can bring the engine back to normal functioning pace. Could air be getting into the fuel line perhaps?

Usually if I stop the engine and restart it she is perfect until just the right "bang" from a wave and it throws out again.

Yesterday when it happened my top revs were 3600 while it was thrown out and it was giving a lot of vibration.

Any ideas on this would be great as I would like to clearly instruct my mechanic when I next have him as to what might be causing it.

Cheers
Old 16 July 2018, 15:40   #2

Town: Liverpool
Length: no boat
Can you run it on a full portable 25litre tank? Is it possible there are apricots getting in when the banging occurs?? Does it run perfectly well for along as there is no banging?? Nik
Old 16 July 2018, 16:04   #3

Town: Cheltenham
Make: Marex
Length: 9m +
RIBase
Some part of your fuel system must be breaking down, sucking air or similar, as above rig up an independent fuel supply and test. If the same same fault happens again maybe start by checking the fuel pump.
Good luck
Old 16 July 2018, 16:34   #4

Town: penzance
Boat name: not named
Make: ski boat
Engine: 150 HPDI
Quote:
Originally Posted by matata View Post