Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 February 2010, 17:56   #21
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradosh View Post
thats right

there was some good arcing on the terminals
i only bought the rib 3wks ago now all electrics are checked and fit for purpose
Is there an inline fuse on that socket now?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 February 2010, 18:04   #22
Member
 
bradosh's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: manchester
Boat name: rib tickler
Make: ribeye 650s
Length: 6m +
Engine: yami 150
MMSI: 235072416
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 119
no
just all terminals cleaned up and well greased
__________________

__________________
bradosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 February 2010, 18:05   #23
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradosh View Post
no
No fuse on a lighter socket?
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 February 2010, 18:13   #24
Member
 
bradosh's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: manchester
Boat name: rib tickler
Make: ribeye 650s
Length: 6m +
Engine: yami 150
MMSI: 235072416
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 119
unless that was 7amp clear glass one my spark said had blown ??????

i will double check though
__________________
bradosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2010, 07:27   #25
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradosh View Post
unless that was 7amp clear glass one my spark said had blown ??????

i will double check though
Do you mean 12v supply - to the engine( to start it) , or from the engine ? If to - I'd expect not to have a seperate fuse, if from I'd expect to have one. Saying that I'm not sure if mine has a fuse Never looked at that bit if the system
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2010, 13:32   #26
Member
 
bradosh's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: manchester
Boat name: rib tickler
Make: ribeye 650s
Length: 6m +
Engine: yami 150
MMSI: 235072416
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 119
this is the 12v cig socket were the corrosion was causing all my problems between the main battery and the engine.

job done
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12vsocket001.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	49195   Click image for larger version

Name:	12vsocket002.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	19.2 KB
ID:	49196  
__________________
bradosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2010, 14:20   #27
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Have to say I don't like that set-up. There's an unnecessary break in the main battery leads to the motor, just to run a 12v socket, which doesn't even have any fuse protection.

Easily sorted though.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2010, 14:33   #28
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Scillies
Boat name: Freedom
Make: Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 2st 90
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 335
I am by no means an expert but all advice I have seen says have uninterupted leads to your battery from the engine then take off all other leads from there. And, I am in the middle of replacing battery leads and battery as I went the cheaper (in the short run) option of using car battery leads (DON'T DO IT). This for me means having to lift the enginge off, resikaflex etc so a pain in the ass really.

Ian
__________________
walruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 February 2010, 05:49   #29
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Near Godalming
Boat name: AJA
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F150AETX
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradosh View Post
this is the 12v cig socket were the corrosion was causing all my problems between the main battery and the engine.

job done
I have the same boat - a 2009 model. I don't think it features a 12V power socket, unless I've missed it somewhere....
__________________
neilda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 February 2010, 06:53   #30
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
Have to say I don't like that set-up. There's an unnecessary break in the main battery leads to the motor, just to run a 12v socket, which doesn't even have any fuse protection.

Easily sorted though.
Have to agree - why have it so low on hull and break the main cables ! I'd remove it ( or at least disconnect it ) , and if you really want need one -stick it on the console with its own power and fuse...........
__________________

__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.