Click Here to Login

Old 21 November 2011, 08:44   #1

Town: EXETER
Boat name: Scorpion
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 90HP 4stroke
Winterisation - is it necessary?

Hi, I'm new to this malarky so please excuse my ignorance. I recently boat my first Rib, an Avon 5.6D, it has a Mercury 90 ELPT (2004). The boat is undercover for the winter in a sheltered but open fronted barn with the engine wrapped in an old Duvet! I intend to use it given an opportunity and intend to be running the engine up at least once a month just to 'flush it through' and to keep the battery good. The boat has a fixed on-board fuel tank which is less than a quarter full and it is vented.
Given the above conditions would it still need to be winterised? Fuel additive and fogging oil etc.

Thanks in advance for more experienced 'boaters' opinions and advice
Old 21 November 2011, 09:04   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Yes, no, maybe!

Yes - if it turns out to be a cold winter like last year, then I wouldn't be happy with my outboard sitting for a month in an open fronted barn without having winterised. If it will be used more often, or its a mild winter it might not matter so much. There has been a few threads previously on using regularly v's winterising.

No - I personally wouldn't bother adding fuel stabiliser especially if you are going to run it monthly. As much fresh fuel in there as you can get before going to sea, should deal with any "stale" fuel. But worth checking for signs of condensation in the fuel.

Maybe - Its not a big issue to "put it to bed" in winter everytime as though you aren't going to use it again for 2-3 months, then you can sleep easy knowing its nicely protected.
Old 21 November 2011, 09:04   #3
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Yes, no, maybe!