Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 18 March 2011, 05:02   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
And another wee detail pioint with regard to fuel consumption..... The economy discussion only really becomes significant if you do a LOT of low speed stuff. If you are spending most of the time flat out, the engione is chuckng out however much horsepower, you're going to have to burn enough of our favourite fluid to get that......
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2011, 14:44   #12
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
And another wee detail pioint with regard to fuel consumption..... The economy discussion only really becomes significant if you do a LOT of low speed stuff. If you are spending most of the time flat out, the engione is chuckng out however much horsepower, you're going to have to burn enough of our favourite fluid to get that......
So go etec

Some healthy propaganda
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2011, 21:50   #13
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
The Etec needs a computer too, but the software will work on anything with Windows and a USB port so I have that for minimal outlay

Suzuki diagnostics are available-ish as well, not sure about other brands.
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2011, 02:52   #14
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Yamaha does sell its diagnostic software, but it's not particularly cheap, as I recall. Windows based, as far as I know. MacNuts are out of luck, I'm afraid.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.