Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 January 2010, 18:12   #1
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,316
twin tanks

what are the configuration options to run twin fuel tanks. Is it possible to run two tanks without a switch over??
__________________

__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 January 2010, 18:19   #2
Member
 
chewy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Up Norf
Make: Avon SR4,Tremlett 23
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yam 55, Volvo 200
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtflash View Post
what are the configuration options to run twin fuel tanks. Is it possible to run two tanks without a switch over??
All depends how you plumb them. Ideally you should be able to run off both tanks, one tank or isolate both.
__________________

__________________
chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2010, 03:46   #3
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
if the tanks are fixed a simple link low down between the 2 tanks will do, if there loose tanks thats a bit harder and i probaly would do it, tell us what your setup is or what you're planning
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2010, 04:16   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
I guess this is for your SR4 therfore portable tanks?

I've seen simple "Y" pieces used, however as Biffer says, it's worth being able to run from one solo, especially with portables as they are more likely to ingest water while sat on the deck.

I run 3 tanks in rotation, and have a hose that stays plugged int othe engine & the other end moves from tank to tank . Sounds like hassle, but for the 20 seconds it takes to get to the stern & swap the hose across, it saves a lot of plumbing.

The other advantage of using one tank at a time is that you have a guaranteed "you are now halfway" alarm!
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2010, 08:37   #5
Member
 
neil.mccrirrick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oldham
Boat name: Nemanda
Make: Aluminium
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp Tohatsu
MMSI: 235065639
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 869
I run two tanks, a 40 litre main and a 25 litre (reserve?) Both tanks are under the console and connected to a three way tap that is down by my left foot when I'm driving.

Really easy to reach down and pull the tap up to switch between tanks and has the bonus of being able to turn the fuel off to the engine if I ever needed to do.

Really easy to do, from memory the tap was about 30 bit of fuel line and the jobs a good un
__________________
neil.mccrirrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2010, 11:33   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Coast
Boat name: No Name
Make: Ribx-450
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 60hp 2 Merc
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 108
Look at Micro Light fule fittings.

I looked into this some time age..........................

Look at the fule fitting for the microlight use, they sell a nice range of switches , taps etc.
__________________
rib-x450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 January 2010, 08:51   #7
Member
 
neil.mccrirrick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oldham
Boat name: Nemanda
Make: Aluminium
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp Tohatsu
MMSI: 235065639
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil.mccrirrick View Post
I run two tanks, a 40 litre main and a 25 litre (reserve?) Both tanks are under the console and connected to a three way tap that is down by my left foot when I'm driving.

Really easy to reach down and pull the tap up to switch between tanks and has the bonus of being able to turn the fuel off to the engine if I ever needed to do.

Really easy to do, from memory the tap was about 30 bit of fuel line and the jobs a good un
Have to add, I did this to get the range for last years IOM trip, but mainly following my engine fire last year that I've just passed the anniversary of, . I know it won't stop a fire, but after all the conflab on that thread re what to do and how, cutting the fuel source remotely from the engine, (albeit not quickly as the line needs to empty), seemed like a good idea.
__________________
neil.mccrirrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 January 2010, 05:03   #8
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,316
was hoping to add another fuel tank forward to shift weight when required, but in theory I presume it would be best to just pump fore and aft from original tank.
__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 January 2010, 06:13   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Pretty much my setup. Tank Fwd, 1 or 2 tanks aft depending what I'm doing.

I have installed a fuel line with enough of a tail to reach the engine, and an inline conector under the console at the forward end. That way the "jumper hose" with the primer bulb is all that actually moves. Physically swapping tanks is all very well until you have to do it in a swell........
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 January 2010, 17:03   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
in the destroyer we have one fixed tank and a portable for'ard which improves the balance no end. both tanks feed to a switch over tap under the consol so that they are not both being drawn from at the same time, if you did draw from both of our tanks it will all stop as soon as one tank or the other empties. It will run without the portable in there of course.
__________________

__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.