Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 June 2007, 16:21   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
trim gauge problem

When i turn the eletrics on the needle goes up to the top, but when i trim the outboard up or down the needle does not move up or down.
does any one know how i can solve this

Thanks
__________________

__________________
frothy top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2007, 16:42   #2
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
On a Yam 40?

They are prone to having the sensor seize up I belive. See if you can locate it on the transom and have a look.
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2007, 17:36   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
How do i know when i have found this sensor?
sorry im not the sharpest tool in the box.
__________________
frothy top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2007, 17:46   #4
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I think the sensor is attatched to the saddle with a plastic arm comming out one side. This arm should move freely (within it's range) when the outboard is compleatly trimmed up and as the engine trims down acts on this arm providing the signal for the gauge. I'm talking Yam 80 here, but I think they're all the same.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2007, 17:48   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Thank you very much i will give that a go tomorow.
__________________
frothy top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2007, 09:41   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
I found the sensor i pushed it with my finger and the needle on the gauge moved up and down i then trimed the engine right down and the needle stayed at the top of the gauge. but the sensor was only half way could this be somthing to do with it?
__________________
frothy top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2007, 11:03   #7
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I think you can adjust the sensor position, try that!
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2007, 20:36   #8
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by frothy top View Post
I found the sensor i pushed it with my finger and the needle on the gauge moved up and down i then trimed the engine right down and the needle stayed at the top of the gauge. but the sensor was only half way could this be somthing to do with it?
The sensor will not give full range over the full swing of the motor. It should be at the highest "up" on the gauge well before the motor is furthest up (because you're trying to measure usable trim range, so all the way up means the motor is still in, or at least nearly in, the water.)

I would guess that the sensor halfway would still result in the motor being too high to run, so I would guess that the sensor is probably just sticking. See if you can lube it up somehow before trying to adjust it.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2007, 20:46   #9
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
According to my brand new , very expensive, service manual the trim gauge/sensor only works on the lower 20 degrees of movement. Above that it is in tilt mode. Hope this helps.
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 June 2007, 16:59   #10
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limey Linda View Post
According to my brand new , very expensive, service manual
LOL. Worth every penny, too, no doubt.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.