Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 30 September 2012, 17:19   #1
Member
 
simon23's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: liverpool
Make: tohatsu6.1 one desig
Length: 6m +
Engine: mariner 125hp
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 357
tohatsu 2 stroke

Ive just bought a new to me rib it has a old 90hp 2 stroke tohatsu with auto-lube on the back.if i want to pre-mix the fuel does anyone no if i have to do anything to auto-lube other than to drain tank ?
__________________

__________________
simon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 September 2012, 18:53   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon23 View Post
Ive just bought a new to me rib it has a old 90hp 2 stroke tohatsu with auto-lube on the back.if i want to pre-mix the fuel does anyone no if i have to do anything to auto-lube other than to drain tank ?
I doubt you can just drain the tank - I would expect there is a sensor which will know it is low on oil / not pumping oil and so put the engine into limp home mode.

I guess the obvious question would be: why disconnect it? do you believe it is faulty or just worried it might get faulty? does that particular model have a known issue?
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2012, 02:52   #3
Member
 
simon23's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: liverpool
Make: tohatsu6.1 one desig
Length: 6m +
Engine: mariner 125hp
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 357
Im just worried it might go faulty as i think this is what killed my last outboard!!!!!
__________________
simon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2012, 04:57   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poly View Post
I doubt you can just drain the tank - I would expect there is a sensor which will know it is low on oil / not pumping oil and so put the engine into limp home mode.

I guess the obvious question would be: why disconnect it? do you believe it is faulty or just worried it might get faulty? does that particular model have a known issue?

My Yamaha autolube will only let the engine rev to 2,000 RPM if the sensor is activated and a warning light flashes

Poly is correct, the engine goes into "safe mode"

I bought an old Suzuki Autolube and didn't have the owners manual, so for the first few times of using it put a 100:1 mix in the fuel and marked the level of the autolube tank with a pencil just to check it was drawing the oil out of the tank as it should.

Maybe you could do that until you are confident in the engine?
__________________
Salty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2012, 06:04   #5
Member
 
simon23's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: liverpool
Make: tohatsu6.1 one desig
Length: 6m +
Engine: mariner 125hp
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 357
I am still trying to find someone near anglesea to confirm my yam is dead .i ran it for 2 years with autolube working fine then one day engine just stopped and been told it sounds as though it started to sizie.not a big deal to premix so i felt it would give me some peace of mind on oil in engine at least!
__________________
simon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2012, 08:29   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Simon,

It will either be siezed or not.

If you pull the lid off the yam, take the plugs out, put it in neutral (disconnect the batery first & all the other helath & safetry stuff ) - can you turn the flywheel by hand? Without the plugs in it should go round smoothly & should go round without lots of horrible grinding noises.

If it makes scary noises or feels incredibly rough to turn, a quick visual way of checking damage it to take off the inlet and / or exhaust manifolds - then you can shine a torch into the cylinder & see the damage (or not) first hand.


Not had the pleasure of a Yam autolube, but my old Suz had a flow sensor in the oil line that also brought it to a grinding halt if the pipe blocked or the pipe fell off the bottom of the tank. An empty tank would also "trip" it. Might be worth checking the sensor(s) & their wiring / connectors on the Yam as well. (is the tank level float still floating?)
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 October 2012, 15:06   #7
Member
 
simon23's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: liverpool
Make: tohatsu6.1 one desig
Length: 6m +
Engine: mariner 125hp
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 357
Thanks for your reply hav'nt tried anything yet only get to my rib at weekends.i picked up my new rib this weekend and could resist going out in it!!!!!
__________________

__________________
simon23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.