Click Here to Login

Old 19 July 2015, 09:20   #1

Town: Dublin
Boat name: Augusta
Make: Zarco
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard, petrol, 50
Tohatsu 2 stroke 50hp cuts out at high revs

Hi, I have recently purchased a RIB and I am new to boating!
I changed the spark plug(3) on the outboard a couple of months ago and checked the fuel and oil filters. Since them the engine cuts out at high revs. I starts back up immediately and runs fine on half revs, I am thinking that fuel isnt getting through but I am not sure what to check, any help greatly appreciated.
Old 19 July 2015, 09:47   #2

Town: Leicester
Engine: 135hp Mercury
Stating the obvious, but start at the fuel tank - pickup pipe, vent - & work your way all the way through.
Is the fuel filter blocked?
If it didn't do this before you worked on it then the first thought is that something you've done/replaced is the problem.
Old 19 July 2015, 10:35   #3

Thanks Paintman, my boat is down in Portugal and I will be going down at the end of July so I will check then. I had a couple of people 'helping' me when I was working on it and it could be that something was put back incorrectly. I will check the fuel filters first!
Old 19 July 2015, 11:02   #4

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
Is it definitely the right sparkplugs? Tohatsu 50hp model D2 uses NGK-BH8S-10 or BR8S-10 gapped at 1.0mm. Ensure the HT leads sit tight on the plugs. Sometimes you can crimp the connection if it's a little suspect.

Definitely rule out fuel as suggested. The male fuel connector can fail. The push-pull release is prone to corrosion, so lube lightly after cleaning with steel wool. Also check the 'o'-ring and ball-bearring inside hasn't been dislodged.

When did you last replace the primer bulb? The fuel bulb internals can collapse, so if it feels particularly hard or is difficult to prime, then replace. Genuine Tohatsu or Quicksilver only.