Old 08 August 2019, 19:20   #1

Town: Ipswich
Boat name: Click and Collect
Make: Valiant and Narwhal
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard
That old Change your impeller every year debate

Got my Brothers boat ready for him to go boating in. He does nothing to it and I don't think he has started it in over a year. He/We have owned the boat over 6 years and it has never had a new impeller. Not sure how long the one in it had been in before we bought the boat.

I Charged the battery and it started after about 4 attempts. Petrol in tank very old.

It seems to run ok and pumps water like a trojan .

Makes you think !
Old 08 August 2019, 20:03   #2

Town: Stirling
Boat name: The Gurnard
Make: Quicksilver
Engine: mariner 25hp 2s
I am no expert Big Plumbs but would imagine the impeller is like everything..if you dont use the boat much..it will last for years. I do my own servicing and check my impellers every winter but only replace them when I think they require replacing.

Example my 6HP Yamaha Four stroke averages around 200 hours per year. I check the impeller every winter and decided to change it after three years of use..approx 600 hours of running. It was still in reasonable conditions but the ends of the blades were wearing flat and it was starting to loose its spring feeling when I bent them..if that makes sense.

So yes..you are correct they could be fine..but if it was my OB ..I would at least check their condition. Simply because if they fail at sea..(and you have no idea what shape they are in ?) ..they could cause a loss of life. If not yours or your brothers ..someone elses if the RNLI are attending to your problem and someone else gets into serious trouble. Admittedly .. very unlikely .. but not something I could live with if it happened to me .. simply because I ignored checking a vital part of the engine that does wear out.

Does my reply make you think ?