Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 September 2006, 08:56   #1
alt
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway, West Eire
Make: Cranchi
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2 x Volvo KAD300
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 644
Send a message via MSN to alt
Tell tale on an inboard?

I have a Mercruiser 1.7 diesel inboard with an Alpha one Leg

My main concern is that I am always paranoid that the raw water system may not be pumping (Although I know it is, as the engine never overheats). It's just paranoia I know, but when I had an outboard I had the re-assurance of being able to see a tell tale p1ssing out the back

Is there a mod available to install a tell tale on an inboard engine?
__________________

__________________
alt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 September 2006, 10:02   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Not as far as I know. However, you can normally fit a heat sensor with alarm onto the exhaust pipe which gets suddenly very hot if the raw water is not being expelled into the exhaust elbow. (Assuming a sterndrive works the same as a shaft drive engine with raw water injection into the exhaust).
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 September 2006, 11:22   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Torrance
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 332
We ve got one on our Mercruiser with a leg..

I m can't remember where the take off is thou - will look next time I m on the boat.

SDG
__________________
SDGANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 September 2006, 12:16   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Make: Redbay 11m Cabin
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha422Sti 275
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 567
Is there not one already fitted, usually a flow alarm as opposed to a tell tale.
Andy
__________________
Hard or Soft it's never BIG enough
Andy Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2006, 04:05   #5
alt
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway, West Eire
Make: Cranchi
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2 x Volvo KAD300
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 644
Send a message via MSN to alt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gee
Is there not one already fitted, usually a flow alarm as opposed to a tell tale.
Andy
I have a temp gauge for the enclosed water system
__________________
alt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2006, 05:11   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Make: Redbay 11m Cabin
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha422Sti 275
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by alt
I have a temp gauge for the enclosed water system
Do you not have a "Low Water Flow" type warning light on the panel?
cheers
Andy
__________________
Hard or Soft it's never BIG enough
Andy Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2006, 06:24   #7
alt
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway, West Eire
Make: Cranchi
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2 x Volvo KAD300
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 644
Send a message via MSN to alt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gee
Do you not have a "Low Water Flow" type warning light on the panel?
cheers
Andy
Nope, the closest thing I have is "Water in fuel" ... nothing else to do with water
__________________
alt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2006, 13:56   #8
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Is the water pressure from the impeller high enough for you fit a water pressure gauge to the raw water side of the cooling system?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 September 2006, 04:15   #9
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Torrance
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 332
Right, finally had a look at ours - fitted to a Delta.

There is a take off from the front of the thermostat housing which has a pipe running to a skin fitting on the transom, The pipe diameter is about 5 mm.

I m not sure if this is an add on or a Delta modification or company spec.

SDG.
__________________
SDGANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 September 2006, 05:16   #10
alt
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Galway, West Eire
Make: Cranchi
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2 x Volvo KAD300
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 644
Send a message via MSN to alt
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDGANDER
Right, finally had a look at ours - fitted to a Delta.

There is a take off from the front of the thermostat housing which has a pipe running to a skin fitting on the transom, The pipe diameter is about 5 mm.

I m not sure if this is an add on or a Delta modification or company spec.

SDG.
Thanks for that, i'll look into it. I don't want to just throw a pipe on in fear of taking away too much water pressure from the raw cooling system
__________________

__________________
alt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.