Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 December 2010, 18:42   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: Ribeye 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 203
Tacho not working - Black max 160 v6

Hi looking for some help please - I have a black max v6 (91) which runs great apart from no reading on the RPM/Tacho. The speedo and fuel guage are working Ok and also a recent new throttle control box and loom so all that wiring down to the engine is good to go.

Where would I start looking into the cause of my non functioning Tacho? - how could I test the actual gauge and pick up on the engine in some way?

Thanks for any help.

Cheers,

James
__________________

__________________
Superjetjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2010, 06:47   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: True Blue
Make: Humber ocean pro 6.3
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 150 opti
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 456
James, you have a pm
__________________

__________________
Ian Sharlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2010, 14:46   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: Ribeye 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 203
Still looking for diagnostic advice here - guys (PM was unrelated to technical issue)

Thanks

James
__________________
Superjetjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 December 2010, 16:56   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
check the pulse settings on the back of the tacho, cant remember what it should be on yours but try some different settings. The Voltage regulator is the part that runs the tacho so this could be at fault.
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 December 2010, 04:39   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: Ribeye 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel View Post
check the pulse settings on the back of the tacho, cant remember what it should be on yours but try some different settings. The Voltage regulator is the part that runs the tacho so this could be at fault.
Thanks TD - Is the voltage regulator the little black box on the outboard with the leads hanging out?
__________________
Superjetjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 December 2010, 05:00   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Assuming your tacho is fairly standard it will have 3 wires going into the back to make it work (Ground (usually black), a +12V feed which will be live when the engine is "running", and a "signal" wire). You may also have a +12V feed which goes to the "backlight" which may or may not be connected and may or may not be wired as always on, or e.g. on when the nav lights are on.

Assuming you have those wires (iboats.com or your owners manual will be able to help with colours), and they are in good condition then I would put a multimeter between the signal wire and the ground - with the multimeter set to AC (a 20V a.c. range should be fine). With the engine running this should show a voltage (and zero with it off). The signal will increase with the revs. If it does this and all the wires and connected then it is probably your gauge that is faulty - or set completely wrongly, as T.D. suggests there is usually a "dial" or setting of some sort on the back to adjust how many poles etc it should use in its RPM calculation.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 December 2010, 12:40   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: Ribeye 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 203
Thanks guys that's great advise - will give it a try when the snow is melted and I can fire her up.

Cheers,

Jim
__________________
Superjetjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2011, 16:49   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: Ribeye 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 203
Quick update - all sorted and working now, it was the rectifier on the outboard, the guage was fine

Cheers

Jim
__________________

__________________
Superjetjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.