Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 February 2013, 18:30   #31
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Argyll
Boat name: Helena
Make: Birchwood
Length: 5m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 250hp
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 116
Fair point ref the single tank, but I would add a separate second take off to the tank so you are using one single feed per engine and as for contamination you will have double the turnover in the tank so in theory as long as its clean to start then it should stay cleaner.
__________________

__________________
peterwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 February 2013, 03:15   #32
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,582
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by redthunder View Post
Yup can't change tank to twins as I'm converting a single engined boat to twins. The reason for twins engines is all my failures have been engines and gearboxes. So two was the way forward. I've never had a fuel problem as yet but will carry a small auxiliary tank in case.
To supply 2x150s at full chat via a single line will need a fair size hose. Depending on the size of the pickup in the tank you might be on dodgy ground. My 115 etecs have 3/8" individual hoses via separate tanks. I'd think you ought to be looking at a 1/2" feed if not larger (not done the maths to work out the equivalent csa) If all this is being fed via a 5/16" pickup....... If you starve the engines, they can run lean & you could melt a piston
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2013, 05:07   #33
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Boat name: Aintree
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150's
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 255
I need to buy a t connector for the fuel hose any ideas where to buy ?
__________________
redthunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2013, 06:54   #34
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Why are water seperators necessary? A volume of petrol burns to produce 8 or so times the volume of hot water. Never understood this - unless it's a starting thing. (IE they start better on petrol rather than water !)

How much water gets into fuel tanks while beetling along?

Is it a part-empty tank condensation thing? - like light aircraft (which have drain test-points at low points in the fuel system to drain/inspect for water. The common Lycoming engines happily chew through some water [as you descend promptly earthwards under no power] as the prop drives the engine. Usually, they restart ...)
__________________
mleeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2013, 07:40   #35
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Not 100% required but a sensible and cheap option. Boats are a little closer to water so a much bigger risk than light aircraft. Combination on condensation..hot sun, cold water around hull, and water on deck finding its way in.

I was obsessed with clearing the water when I was flying..still ended up in a field coming out of Bembridge...and had a scary scary climb (just) coming out of Southampton in an Archer... :-(
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2013, 07:54   #36
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,582
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by mleeee View Post
Why are water seperators necessary?
Because it phuqs up the injectors on modern DI engines along with all the other crap that accumulates in the bottom of the tank. Good water separating filter (Racor) = 60 quid, replacement injector = 300-600 quid + lost time on the water & embarrasing call to CG requesting tow, go figure
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2013, 07:56   #37
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lymington
Boat name: BST
Make: OCEAN
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x 140
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Hi.
You may have a problem with the Racor not being able to supply enough fuel to both engines as higher RPM and especially as the Racor starts to get dirty. You may fine you go though more fillers than you need to also.
You will notice the fuel ball suck flat.
You can do it as a stander Racor has two inlets and two out lets but better with twin Racors .I have snap fittings so I can use both Racor's on ether engine or alone etc etc. without having to have fuel leavers everywhere. I also have twin tanks so yours would be even simpler.

Hope that of some help.

Al
__________________
AlTait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2013, 08:21   #38
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,582
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlTait View Post
Hi.
You may have a problem with the Racor not being able to supply enough fuel to both engines as higher RPM
Al
This one will deliver 60gph, you can go upto 90gph if needed
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 February 2013, 14:54   #39
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by redthunder View Post
I need to buy a t connector for the fuel hose any ideas where to buy ?
ASAP SUPPLIES MOST LIKELY.

JUST FOUND SHIFT LOCK ON MY IPAD ONLY TAKEN ME 2 YEARS
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 February 2013, 04:18   #40
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Boat name: Aintree
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150's
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
ASAP SUPPLIES MOST LIKELY.

JUST FOUND SHIFT LOCK ON MY IPAD ONLY TAKEN ME 2 YEARS
Great thanks
__________________

__________________
redthunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.