Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 October 2015, 08:33   #1
Member
 
Wightdiver's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Boat name: Red Dog
Make: Porters Renegade
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 HP Yamaha
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 432
Speed function not working

My boat is fitted with a 150 HP Yamaha HPDI. The speed function on the gauges has never worked, which has never particularly worried me, but I noticed the other day it does work at 4MPH!! Reduce to 3MPH or increase to 5MPH and it stops working, but at 4MPH it works.

Obviously all of the components are there for it to work and as winter is approaching I have some time, how would I go about trouble shooting this problem?

Thanks

Andy
__________________

__________________
Wightdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2015, 08:57   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,460
RIBase
Is it a GPS,paddle wheel or pitot tube type?


.....sh1t happens.......
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2015, 09:54   #3
Member
 
Wightdiver's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Boat name: Red Dog
Make: Porters Renegade
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 HP Yamaha
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Is it a GPS,paddle wheel or pitot tube type?


.....sh1t happens.......
Clear plastic tube.
__________________
Wightdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2015, 09:56   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
On the leading edge of the lower unit, you'll find a tiny hole (take a thumbnail and run it along the front edge of the LU until you find a small notch.) That feeds a small plastic or rubber tube that runs up to your speedo gauge. In theory, the water pressure compresses the air in the tube, and the gauge reads that. Most likely, the hole on your LU is blocked. Clean it out with a small drill bit or piece of wire (doesn't matter if you force the blockage further in - there really isn't anything it'll hurt in there.) Should take care of it.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2015, 10:33   #5
Member
 
Wightdiver's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Boat name: Red Dog
Make: Porters Renegade
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 HP Yamaha
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
On the leading edge of the lower unit, you'll find a tiny hole (take a thumbnail and run it along the front edge of the LU until you find a small notch.) That feeds a small plastic or rubber tube that runs up to your speedo gauge. In theory, the water pressure compresses the air in the tube, and the gauge reads that. Most likely, the hole on your LU is blocked. Clean it out with a small drill bit or piece of wire (doesn't matter if you force the blockage further in - there really isn't anything it'll hurt in there.) Should take care of it.

jky
Thanks, another question, the tube is too long and is coiled up inside the console, is it OK to cut it to the correct length?
__________________
Wightdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2015, 11:06   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 43
Cut it to the right length , then blow back down the tube to the engine to clear it before plugging It back in the back of the gauge - you will tell if its blocked/ full of water by doing this ( can take it off at engine saddle too.
__________________
Stuart1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2015, 11:21   #7
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,292
My yamaha speedo works same as yours, it stopped working a few months ago, i isolated the problem to where the tube from the engine goes through the cabling tube into the transom its got crushed by the otehr cables some how, so water cannot go up the tube properly and hence no reading. Am going to fix it some day when its warmer.
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2015, 11:21   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,460
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wightdiver View Post
Clear plastic tube.

Forget it, pitot tube, wildly inaccurate not worth any effort


.....sh1t happens.......
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2015, 13:28   #9
Member
 
Wightdiver's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Boat name: Red Dog
Make: Porters Renegade
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 HP Yamaha
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Forget it, pitot tube, wildly inaccurate not worth any effort


.....sh1t happens.......
More accurate that what I have currently.
__________________
Wightdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 October 2015, 14:17   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,460
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wightdiver View Post
More accurate that what I have currently.

IF you manage to get it working, it won't work for long & it will tell you lies when it does "work". If you really want to get it working, remove the tube from the back of the gauge & blow back towards the engine, you should be able to blow through to the small hole on the leading edge of the gear case. If that works, pull all the slack out of the hose & cut it off, re-attach to the gauge & test. If you can't blow through, you have a blockage or kink somewhere. If it's clear & the gauge still doesn't work, it could be the gauge that's shot.


.....sh1t happens.......
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.