Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 19 April 2005, 14:54   #1
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
Smartcraft for Mercury 60 EFI

Does anyone know what parts I would need to rig up a Smartcraft tach to my engine?

Is it just a case of running the wiring loom from the engine to the console and plugging it into the tach. In which case which loom do I need - I can only find info about the A30 wiring harness

Thanks
__________________

__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2005, 15:04   #2
tue
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Paignton, Devon
Make: Chinook and Viking
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150 Etec + 125 Merc
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 526
Well it is just a case of running the loom from the engine to the tacho.....

However if it is anything like the 3cyl optis to wire in it is a pain in the arse. There are several smaller looms needed for things like power trim sender, temp etc. and it can all turn into a real nighmare.

Not sure which harness you need, at the moment, but can find out at work tomorrow.

__________________

__________________
**Paul**
Brixham BSAC
tue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2005, 15:09   #3
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by tue
However if it is anything like the 3cyl optis to wire in it is a pain in the arse. There are several smaller looms needed for things like power trim sender, temp etc. and it can all turn into a real nighmare.
Oh goody . I'm mainly interested in the tach and fuel consumption data; I guess temp would be handy too. Not to bothered about trim sender though, the analogue ones good enough for that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tue
Not sure which harness you need, at the moment, but can find out at work tomorrow.
Thanks the would be excellent
__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 April 2005, 04:36   #4
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
If it's an EFI Smartcraft are not compatible, you need an Optimax as far as I know - been wrong before though!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 April 2005, 05:04   #5
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Carigaline/Baltimore
Boat name: XS-600
Make: XS-Ribs
Length: 6m +
Engine: Merc Optimax 150 XL
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 682
Nope, you can get smartcraft with Verado, OptiMax,V6 EFI 2stroke and mid-range 4stroke EFI engines.
__________________
Steve G
If In Doubt, Go Flat Out!!
swginn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 April 2005, 04:22   #6
tue
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Paignton, Devon
Make: Chinook and Viking
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150 Etec + 125 Merc
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 526
Ok. The harness you need to connect a Smartcraft Tacho with the buttons is:- 84-879982T20. This is for the Blue cambus harness and is 20ft long. If you need a longer one they do a 30ft harness part # 84-879982T30.

Cheers
__________________
**Paul**
Brixham BSAC
tue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 April 2005, 15:16   #7
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
Thanks Paul - I owe you a beer.
__________________

__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.