Old 22 March 2020, 18:12   #1

Town: South West
Make: Zapcat
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 tohatsu
Slow tohatsu 50 (zapcat)

Hello all,

Firstly thanks for the information this forum has provided for me, I’ve been a reader for years!

To the point. Got my first zapcat with the standard tohatsu 50hp, first launch last week and it’s really down on power. Will rev up freely in neutral, once in gear it really struggles along, Ive been helming 30hp RNLI Inshore rescue boats for nearly 10 years so I know this should be a fair bit quicker for comparison!

Ive rebuilt the fuel pump and upgraded the coils for the naraku items, fully serviced new plugs, fresh fuel, good even compression across all three, had a boyesen read stick on the air box so assume it has those. Re launched today and no difference. So time for a carb rebuild I guess? Will I need a gasket set or do they come apart without damaging gaskets? Any other advice appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Ali
Old 22 March 2020, 21:33   #2

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
Not aware of gaskets being on the carbs? Yes old fuel can get gummed up, but be careful when stripping down. I stripped the carbs on my Tohatsu MC60 three times without success. Eventually put it in to a marine engineer who effectively reset all settings.

On a power trim and tilt engine, then the butterfly valve behind the airbox can stick. In addition, if you're using after-market fuel connectors, then check the 'o' rings as they are known to dislodge and restrict fuel. Genuine Tohatsu only. Also check the primer bulb. Can get brittle or hard with age and diagraphm can restrict flow. Genuine Tohatsu or Quicksiver only.

Good call on the fuel pump. You can rule that out by running in neutral and premoving pump from engine block.