Old 24 May 2014, 15:33   #1

Town: Maidstone
Boat name: na
Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: outboard 25p 2stroke
Simple questions for Yamaha 25hp 2 stroke

Hi

I have an old (1983ish) Yamaha 25hp 2stroke engine number starts 695.

Had a few troubles with it last time I went out in it, seems to be fuel, one seemingly knowledgeable chap on the beach told me that carb needed a clean up.

I took off what looks like an air filter box expecting to see a filter inside but its empty. Is this normal ? or should it have one ?

Any one know where I can get a (Haynes style) workshop manual, it's my first time looking at outboards !

Anyone able to recommend someone cheap (and hopefully helpful) for parts ? (mainly service bits).

Thanks alot
Old 24 May 2014, 16:42   #2

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
I had a 1986 Yamaha 25hp and it was model 25D. It'll be two cylinder, etc. Really great engines. Manual here: Genuine 20C 25D Yamaha Outboard Service Manual 20HP 25HP 2Stroke 6A9-28197-E0 | eBay

Regards air box - there's no filter in them. By all means use a little WD40 on it (removed from engine) and clean up with a rag.

If it's new to you and you're unaware of the service history, then I'd look at the following service items:

1/ Remove propeller, grease splined shaft and refit thrust washer, castle nut and new split pin.
2/ Renew manual start cord.
3/ New sparks.
4/ Remove thermostat, wire brush, lightly grease and test (use new gasket)
5/ Lube grease nipple points.
6/ Test fuel pump for tears or leaks in diaphragm
7/ Drop leg, renew impeller, and gear oil, fit new drain and fill fibre washers.
8/ Drain carbs, remove from engine clean with carb cleaner, rebuild and refit.
9/ Electrics, unplug bullet connectors, lightly sand with 3M paper and reconnect
10/ Run strimmer wire into tell-tale hole and ensure it free of any blockage