Old 10 November 2014, 10:30   #1

Town: Bangor
Boat name: WILL
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda 15 hp outboard
Running an engine whilst fishing

Hi all, sorry to ask such a stupid question, but as im new to boating i have silly questions in my head.
I have a 3.8m Quicksilver rib with a Honda 15 hp outboard.
Do I keep my engine running throughout my fishing trip ? Or do I turn it off whilst im fishing ? I wont be far off shore aprox 500 meters.
Thank you
Hoss
Old 10 November 2014, 11:24   #2

Town: Surrey
Boat name: Fugly & Rokraider 1
Make: Pac 22 & Porter 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Ford 250 & jet,DT140
I suppose it depends on what sort of fishing you are doing. In Chi Harbour, a lot of the guys fishing in the channel go out a fair way and drift back in with the tide. As long as your engine is a reliable starter, can't see why you would want to keep it running? I guess you can always drop anchor as well? I don't fish, so could be talking nonsense? There are plenty on here that do and I am sure will be along shortly.
Old 10 November 2014, 11:35   #3

Town: Rostrevor
Boat name: Ricochet
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin F115 Yams
MMSI: 235083269
Welcome to RIBnet

No such thing as a silly or stupid question - especially when its about safety

I know the dilemma but one of the reasons that I go out fishing is for the peace and "quiet" so if it is safe to do so re location then I always my engine off.

I assume you will have all the other essential kit with you if your engine doesn't start. Check out this link/s for some really good top tips for angling

RNLI | Respect the water | Angling
Old 10 November 2014, 12:14   #4

Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
If at anchor I always switch engine off but not before anchor is set. Like wise when I recover anchor always start outboard first.

If drift fishing it depends on the length of the drift and the hazards around as to whether I turn off or keep it running.

Looks Slow but is Fast