Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 March 2019, 02:38   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: OCHI II
Make: Humber Ocean Pro 800
Length: 8m +
Engine: 225hp Suzuki OB
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 59
Rigging Hose Replacement

This is a relatively simple question/answer I hope to those that know! I want to replace the rigging hose on the outboard. The current one was sliced open by Humber and wrapped around the cables and then secured with cable ties. I would like to run the connections through a new hose. This will require disconnection from the engine end, possible shortening the cables/lines etc (if this can be done?) and then sliding through a new tube/rigging hose and then securing the new Rigging hose end to the deck and finally reconnecting all to the engine. I have been advised this is circa 7 hours work, which intuitively feels a lot. I checked with another engineer who said 2-3 hours. Do any of you have an idea as to how long this should take a competent smart marine engineer to do? thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OCHI - Rear Rigging Tube to be replaced.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	131.2 KB
ID:	128574  
__________________

__________________
JTURNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2019, 03:02   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,849
RIBase
Rigging Hose Replacement

Iíve done this before. Took me a morning to do including tea breaks. Probably about 4 hours tops. Iím not a marine engineer & I was doing it outside. I would have thought a savvy experienced marine engineer in a workshop with all the correct tools to hand would easily do the job in 3 hours. Add an hour for recommissioning & final checks.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2019, 03:23   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,962
i agree with dave but why not spiral wrap over the existing hose taking off the tie wraps as you go it will look neat and very cheap to do
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2019, 05:16   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: OCHI II
Make: Humber Ocean Pro 800
Length: 8m +
Engine: 225hp Suzuki OB
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffstevens763@g View Post
i agree with dave but why not spiral wrap over the existing hose taking off the tie wraps as you go it will look neat and very cheap to do
Thanks for this Dave and Jeff. Jeff what do you have in mind. I did some googling and found this - is this what youre thinking?
https://www.hosewraps.com/

We will still need to shorten the cables/hoses - is that easy/difficult to do?

Let me know

Thanks

JT
__________________
JTURNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2019, 05:59   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,962
this tuff JT different sizes available i think screwfix,cef,rs supply too

s://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/UK-10-28mm-Cable-Spiral-Wrap-Tidy-Cord-Wire-Banding-Loom-Storage-Tube-Wire-Tool/163376793270?hash=item260a040

https://www.ebay.co.uk/b/Spiral-Wrap...7858/bn_445270

personally i would reroute to take slack out looking at it it's not much to lose could you lose some back in the console if thats where it goes, humber use to just run along the floor not under deck
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2019, 06:35   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Jersey
Boat name: Jazcabelle
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Petrol 150
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 245
It’s not an overall long job to do. I’ve just done mine. Cowling off, gear and throttle cables disconnected, engine loom and steering disconnected, fuel and oil lines depending on whether 2s or 4s.

Couple of hours work. The hardest part is going to be shortening the cables. There’s only so much room on the side of the cowling for the loom and if it’s a cable gear shifter that can’t be done, so toy might just have to pull the cable back towards the console instead.

Fuel line can be shortened.

Easiest option is to just pull it all through towards the console and lose it in there instead.

Why did they cut it in the first place??
Seems a bit drastic
__________________
Chanchan168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 March 2019, 08:37   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,849
RIBase
You can pull a foot or so of throttle & gear cable back into the console, but try & avoid loops. Every curve & loop you put into the cable will introduce play into the system. Shortening battery cables & hoses is easy enough.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2019, 01:05   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: OCHI II
Make: Humber Ocean Pro 800
Length: 8m +
Engine: 225hp Suzuki OB
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 59
Gents, thanks for your inputs. Hugely appreciated. I clearly dont want to introduce any more loops and thereby introduce play in the system if that can be avoided. You will see in the pic there is already one larger loop there at he transom - I ideally want to remove loops etc as part of this tidy up.

What I have not mentioned here is that this is also being done in conjunction with replacement of the of the Remote Control Throttle Binacle at the helm (new Suzuki one being installed). They reckon that will take circa 2 hours to do on its own. Does that make a difference when shortening the cables? My point being is that the cables where installed this length when the boat was new, we always reckoned it may have been a rush job to finish for the Southampton Boat Show, but surely these cables/lines etc can be adjusted /shortened just as would be the case if the boat was a different config with the helm further back to the stern. What are the challenges and requirements to shorten these cables. Does it mean new cables? Is that an expensive item? Thanks again for all your help and inputs. JT
__________________
JTURNER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2019, 02:53   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,849
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTURNER View Post
Gents, thanks for your inputs. Hugely appreciated. I clearly dont want to introduce any more loops and thereby introduce play in the system if that can be avoided. You will see in the pic there is already one larger loop there at he transom - I ideally want to remove loops etc as part of this tidy up.



What I have not mentioned here is that this is also being done in conjunction with replacement of the of the Remote Control Throttle Binacle at the helm (new Suzuki one being installed). They reckon that will take circa 2 hours to do on its own. Does that make a difference when shortening the cables? My point being is that the cables where installed this length when the boat was new, we always reckoned it may have been a rush job to finish for the Southampton Boat Show, but surely these cables/lines etc can be adjusted /shortened just as would be the case if the boat was a different config with the helm further back to the stern. What are the challenges and requirements to shorten these cables. Does it mean new cables? Is that an expensive item? Thanks again for all your help and inputs. JT


Iíd put new cables in, teleflex extreme. Use the current ones to work out the correct length & buy new.
And yes, changing the binnacle will add time obviously.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 March 2019, 05:02   #10
Member
 
Country: Denmark
Town: Odense
Boat name: ViBe'N
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard/petrol 115
MMSI: 219015941
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffstevens763@g View Post
this tuff JT different sizes available i think screwfix,cef,rs supply too

s://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/UK-10-28mm-Cable-Spiral-Wrap-Tidy-Cord-Wire-Banding-Loom-Storage-Tube-Wire-Tool/163376793270?hash=item260a040

https://www.ebay.co.uk/b/Spiral-Wrap...7858/bn_445270

personally i would reroute to take slack out looking at it it's not much to lose could you lose some back in the console if thats where it goes, humber use to just run along the floor not under deck
Nope. Not in your boat. They are fine below your console or TV installation at home. But out in the open; no.
__________________

__________________
Kind regards

Bent P.
Bent Pedersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.