Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 23 August 2011, 17:13   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
resetting system faults on smartcraft instruments

ooops, got some water in the fuel filter, so emptied it out, and changed the small blue sensor on the bottom and refitted. Only problem is the instruments still tell me I have a fault.

Is there any way other than getting it plugged into a laptop that I can clear the system faults?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 August 2011, 17:25   #2
Member
 
Ribshop's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: River Hamble
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 726
Have you cleared the water from the fuel pump?
__________________

__________________
RIB REPAIRS | RE-TUBES | RE-FIT - OUTBOARD SERVICING - ONLINE SHOP FOR RIB & TOHATSU PARTS .
Phone: 01489 556800 www.rib-shop.com
Ribshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 August 2011, 20:02   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ribshop View Post
Have you cleared the water from the fuel pump?
I dont know on that one...How you do that? I have taken the filter off, swilled around with petrol and replaced the blue sensor plug.
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2011, 03:23   #4
Member
 
Ribshop's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: River Hamble
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 726
Scrub that you must have an early model, the later models have a water sensor in the base of the fuel pump / vapour separator, however once water has been cleared from the sensor in the fuel filter the gauges should clear.
__________________
RIB REPAIRS | RE-TUBES | RE-FIT - OUTBOARD SERVICING - ONLINE SHOP FOR RIB & TOHATSU PARTS .
Phone: 01489 556800 www.rib-shop.com
Ribshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2011, 04:22   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ribshop View Post
Scrub that you must have an early model, the later models have a water sensor in the base of the fuel pump / vapour separator, however once water has been cleared from the sensor in the fuel filter the gauges should clear.
Mine is 2007/8 mercury...its a little screw in blue plug on the bottom of the fuel filter
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2011, 11:10   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
http://www.mercurymarine.com/_media/...tor_Manual.pdf

Don't see anything about resetting faults, other than a master reset. I'd suspect whatever triggered the fault indication is still there.


jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2011, 14:43   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
cant be, i m running it off an external tank at the mo to be on the safe side
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2011, 16:26   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Have you tried draining the Vapor Seperator? Im guessing you have water in there still. If it still playing up im in Plymouth tomorrow sorting out another optimax, give me a call!
01503 265898
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2011, 19:44   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel View Post
Have you tried draining the Vapor Seperator? Im guessing you have water in there still. If it still playing up im in Plymouth tomorrow sorting out another optimax, give me a call!
01503 265898
Where is that located? is that the one located next to the fuel filter?
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2011, 17:04   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Its at the front of the engine bottom right corner!. Big brass plug with a flat screw driver slot in it.
Item 25 in the attachment.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Opti_VTS.pdf (105.0 KB, 196 views)
__________________

__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.