Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 March 2010, 11:09   #11
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
It does look tidy.
It looks like the wrong shaft length though. Isn't the F3 supposed to take a short shaft? It might just be the angle of the pic though.
Yep Deffo wrong shaft length. !!
__________________

__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 March 2010, 12:44   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: BRISTOL
Make: FLATACRAFT GT3
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 28 hp ES
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 52
Yes Nos, the original blueband I had was a shortshaft and fitted perfectly. Unfortunately this one is a longshaft, and as I don't want to increase the height of the transom, I may need to resell it and find something more suitable .
__________________

__________________
redxpuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2010, 07:39   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by redxpuser View Post
(59).
Bargain! At that price it's a disposable engine!


One thing I found with mine - assuming yours has the same carb(s) as mine, the choke isn't so much a choke as a "more fuel valve". Net result is that the usual temptation to open the throttle on start just results in it leaning the mix back out again, effectivley kiling any choking effect form pulling that lever! Took me ages to figure that one out......

Now starts (well, it did befroe I blew it up!) pretty much first time every time with "choke" & no throttle.
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2010, 17:24   #14
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by redxpuser View Post
Yes Nos, the original blueband I had was a shortshaft and fitted perfectly. Unfortunately this one is a longshaft, and as I don't want to increase the height of the transom, I may need to resell it and find something more suitable .
Have you still got the old blueband 20hp? You should be able to swap the powerhead from the redband to the blueband.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 March 2010, 13:04   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: BRISTOL
Make: FLATACRAFT GT3
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 28 hp ES
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 52
Hi Nos,
I wouldn't be able to swap the powerhead. If you remember , I was unable to remove the gear shaft from the blueband.
I will just make sure the redband runs efficiently now, take a 'running video' and put it up on ebay.
Then I will have to start looking for something cheap and cheerful - up to about 30 hp - to eventually get my little rib on the water.

If anyone has a suitable motor to sell, up to about 500, please let me know,

Thanks,
ANDY
__________________
redxpuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2010, 13:43   #16
Member
 
phillnjack's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: slough
Boat name: not named yet
Make: Orkney Dory 4 metre
Length: 4m +
Engine: outboard evinrude 60
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 80
Just use a nice plate to lift the engine up a bit.
Im going to do it to my s400.

Good engines are not as easy to find as you might think.

If you know that your engine is a good one keep it and lift the transom.



phill
__________________
phillnjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2010, 15:22   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: SMH Rib / War Shot
Make: Ribtec / Scorpion
Length: 4m +
Engine: 10hp Yam / 150hp opt
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,894
RIBase
Surely the transom on a F3 is a plywood insert inside a Hypalon membrane. Just build a taller plywood piece?
__________________

__________________
Searider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.