Old 07 October 2012, 18:02   #1
RIBnet supporter

Town: MALTA
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 EFI 4S
Props on RIBs

I've messed around with props before on Medium V fiberglass Centre consoles before, and ended up learning just how difficult good prop selection is, but I have ZERO experience on RIBs.

I'm guessing that given the lift provided by the tubes, lighter overall weight when compared to a similar size all GRP boat, perhaps when it comes to prop selection there are differences as well.

I've got a Merc 115EFI 4S on a 6m RIB that is currently running a 3 Blade Blackmax 17 and getting around 6300rpm trimmed out with a typical load (2 adults, 1 teen, 50% fuel) and I would say the previous owner has probably left this prop because he likes to run heavier loads with lots of people. (WOT is 5,800 to 6,400) so at circa 6,300 I can probably afford to run some more pitch.

A buddy has a Blackmax 19P, so that would be an easy swap but it likely to put me at 5,900 or there abouts which may be an issue if we run 6 adults and a couple of kids.....

But it's a Stainless Steel Prop that i am really after and it seems that from Merc it's the Laser II or Trophy Plus 4 blade as options (Vengeance is too bog std). I'm drawn a bit to the Trophy as the 4 blades should give me a good hole shot and mid range and I can prop move the engine up a bit.

Any experiences with the 115EFI and props that run well on a similar sized RIB?
Old 11 October 2012, 21:27   #2
RIBnet supporter

Anyone running a MW Ballistic prop on their boat?
Old 12 October 2012, 15:51   #3

Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Quote:
Originally Posted by npm108 View Post
I've messed around with props before on Medium V fiberglass Centre consoles before, and ended up learning just how difficult good prop selection is, but I have ZERO experience on RIBs.
Prop selection is just as difficult on RIB's as hard boats. Mostly a matter of trial and error, in my experience.

jky
Old 13 October 2012, 04:43   #4
RIBnet supporter