Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 July 2008, 14:02   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: knebworth
Boat name: phoenix
Make: xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115 opti
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 193
Send a message via MSN to mark-f Send a message via Skype™ to mark-f
problem with optimax 115

I've had a problem today with my mercury optimax 115 2005, but fitted with the twin speed and tach displays.

it keeps coming up with an overspeed alarm and the guardian kicks in and reduced the revs but according to the system its cutting in at 3900 rpm, way lower than it should do, I've tried resetting it but it still does the same thing.

anyone any Ideas?

Mark
__________________

__________________
mark-f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2008, 15:49   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oakham
Boat name: Blue Wave
Make: XS
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 115
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 135
Mark

Sound like you have the same boat and engine as me. Sorry I can't offer any advice but I will watch this space in case I get similar problems. Is it a smart craft tacho as per my post http://rib.net/forum/showthread.php?t=25711 a few threads down the page.

Jon
__________________

__________________
Jon.esp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2008, 16:16   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Sounds like you might have a faulty, gear position switch, If this fails or becomes unplugged it will think your still in Neutral and limit your RPM to 4000. Check its still plugged in, two wires coming from it, very hard to get to though, it sits back almost under the oil tank (just follow the gear lever). If its still plugged in you will really need someone to plug in a laptop or DDT get them just to put it into gear and see what the shift position is on the screen.
__________________
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2008, 19:41   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: knebworth
Boat name: phoenix
Make: xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115 opti
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 193
Send a message via MSN to mark-f Send a message via Skype™ to mark-f
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon.esp View Post
Mark

Sound like you have the same boat and engine as me. Sorry I can't offer any advice but I will watch this space in case I get similar problems. Is it a smart craft tacho as per my post http://rib.net/forum/showthread.php?t=25711 a few threads down the page.

Jon
Hi Jon,

No I have the twin dials speedo & tacho

and yes sounds like the same package as mine

Mark
__________________
mark-f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2008, 19:43   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: knebworth
Boat name: phoenix
Make: xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115 opti
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 193
Send a message via MSN to mark-f Send a message via Skype™ to mark-f
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel View Post
Sounds like you might have a faulty, gear position switch, If this fails or becomes unplugged it will think your still in Neutral and limit your RPM to 4000. Check its still plugged in, two wires coming from it, very hard to get to though, it sits back almost under the oil tank (just follow the gear lever). If its still plugged in you will really need someone to plug in a laptop or DDT get them just to put it into gear and see what the shift position is on the screen.
thanks turbo,

I'll have a look tommorow

cheers

mark
__________________
mark-f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2008, 06:27   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: knebworth
Boat name: phoenix
Make: xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115 opti
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 193
Send a message via MSN to mark-f Send a message via Skype™ to mark-f
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel View Post
Sounds like you might have a faulty, gear position switch, If this fails or becomes unplugged it will think your still in Neutral and limit your RPM to 4000. Check its still plugged in, two wires coming from it, very hard to get to though, it sits back almost under the oil tank (just follow the gear lever). If its still plugged in you will really need someone to plug in a laptop or DDT get them just to put it into gear and see what the shift position is on the screen.
HI Turbo,

Thanks for you help with this you were spot on with your diagnostics, I shorted out the switch and full power was returned until I managed to get the switch changed out.



Mark
__________________
mark-f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 August 2008, 15:25   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark-f View Post
HI Turbo,

Thanks for you help with this you were spot on with your diagnostics, I shorted out the switch and full power was returned until I managed to get the switch changed out.



Mark
Cool, Glad to help out.
__________________

__________________
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.